South Korea

ESLwatch - Information, News and School Reviews

Search for your school,college,university,recruiter,company or individual, if not listed then please email us, we will then email you back with a link so you can review.
Log in Register

Log in

Blacklisted: YBM ECC SSANGMUN SEOULI would like to Blacklist YBM Ssangmun ECC located in Seoul run by director Mary and Supervisor Suzie, a school that still owes me over $1,000 while I am at home and unable to do anything about it.

The address and phone number are as follows:
4F, S and F Building., 749-16 Chang 5-dong, Dobong-gu, Seoul 132-928
Tel : 02-956-0509

I was a bit naïve coming into this and I highly recommend that you do not work at this place (or any YBM HOGwan) under any circumstances. My experience was so awful that I did not finish my contract. It was the worst experience of my life and I don’t say that lightly. I left behind my apartment and boyfriend to come home due to this job.

-The day I started work, I was told I would have to work 12+ hours a day for “Intensives” (not mentioned in the contract) as a brand new teacher. Yes, I was working up to 13 hours a day for at least 3 weeks. I felt trapped as I was in a new country and had nowhere to go. This was a nightmarish period. I am 24 years old and this is not my first job and I was so exhausted I cried every night. What the job did not tell me was that the person before me quit and they desperately needed me as a replacement for intensives. Intensives happen about 3 times a year and you get barely any overtime. They will find any way possible to keep you there as long as humanly possible and take away your overtime.

-I taught 8-11 classes on a regular basis., often with no breaks. Believe me, 8-11 40 minute classes is EXHAUSTING.

-My supervisor Jeannie forgot or neglected to pick me up from the bus station upon arrival. About 2 hours late, 3 Koreans who spoke absolutely no English picked me up. I was given a note I could not eat until the morning due to a blood test (after a 20+-hour fight. I was starving and the next day I had my blood test. Then I was brought to work and told I couldn’t eat until hours later.

-WORKSHEET TIME! Rather than give us our scheduled breaks, this school forced me and my coworkers to stay inside the office and make worksheets. These worksheets were absolutely pointless and I never saw one of the worksheets used. When I asked to make worksheets for classes I actually teach since we never seem to have enough material I was told I was not allowed. The worksheets were checked by our supervisor Jeannie (now promoted to manager) who yelled at me for not finishing one once when all the computers were broken. When I complained about worksheet time my supervisor said I was “Weird.” When I threatened to quit, I was threatened with very expensive penalties. My supervisor Jeannie took delight in forcing me to do the useless worksheets. On the YBM website it clearly states that teachers are not supposed to provide the teaching materials.

-My apartment in “Anyang Apartments” had cockroaches, and wasn’t clean. I was given no bed and an absolutely filthy smelly mattress to sleep on and used sheets, and a used blanket and used pillowcase. The apartment came with no curtains (I was woken up at 5 am on a regular basis) and no Tupperware. The stove had to be replaced as it was broken and the shower and sink were broken. The air conditioner (in 105 degree weather) broke shortly afterwards. When I asked my coworkers they had the same problems and or worse, especially with roaches, which infested the entire building. The walls were filthy and covered with random brown stains (which they school cleverly tried to cover up with furniture) and the torn, filthy furniture had literally been dragged in from the trash (this was confirmed by my coworkers.)

-Sick days! I was under tremendous pressure not to take a sick day. Having taken only 2 sick days I set the record at YBM Ssangmun ECC for most sick days. Eventually I developed several infections that went untreated and had to go home without even telling them because I was soooo ill and was having severe kidney pain I felt my life was in danger. I discussed the pain with my supervisor Suzie and the possibility of having to go home and the only thing they could offer me was switching one class around. The did not offer to cut a single class to help me. At least I thankfully caught an emergency flight home and YBM immediately proceeded to harass my boyfriend who worked at another school and his coworkers trying to find me. (They gave me no help beforehand in finding medical care except to say wait 2 weeks or go to the ER-, which I had already done, but had nobody to translate)

-Upon arriving home, they told my boyfriend that he (who worked for a different school in the same company) would have to pay the overtime due to my coworkers. That’s right. They tried to get my boyfriend in a different school to pay THEIR overtime.

-My paystubs were withheld from me almost every single payday. I had to send 4-5 emails begging for a copy of my paystubs every time we got paid, sometimes to no avail.

-In the winter, there was NO HEAT provided in below freezing temperatures for the afternoon students who paid slightly less to go to the program. Students sat there in their full winter coats gloves, hats, and scarves and complained it was too cold to learn. I stood there in my coat and scarf and was too cold to teach. People were constantly ill and still showing up for work and school. I had to beg from the main desk for the remote to turn on the heat, which was often withheld from me. You can forget about heat or AC in the teacher’s room. Oh, and summer is worse. Expect to be working weeks in 90 degree weather with no AC.

-We went through 2 managers and 2 supervisors and several people quitting within just 8 months of being there.

There is so much more to say about the awful time I had there, but to shorten this long, horrible story, I learned my lesson the hard way. Upon arriving home I understood the exploitative and slave driving nature of the YBM ECC Company. I heard even worse experiences from other schools. Do not work for this company especially YBM SSangmun ECC, that’s all I can say.

0 out of 5 based on 0 ratings

Comments  

-14 # Completely DisagreeESL Teacher 2013-06-24 14:42
I was shocked at the exaggerations littered throughout this review. I have personally known six foreign teachers (not to mention several Korean teachers) who thought highly enough of Ssangmun ECC to resign after one year. If Ssangmun ECC was a 'bad hagwon' it certainly would not have teachers committing years out of their lives to them at the rate that it does. I think this reviewer would not have been happy anywhere she ended up.
-17 # RE: Completely DisagreeTracy 2013-06-24 16:43
I do agree with your comment. This teacher does sound to be nit-picking and not open to cultural differences.

To the OP:

You do not know that each school is the same. All franchised hagwons are individually owned and run. Each Director has their own way of running their schools to the franchised format (curriculum). I personally know teacher who work in YBM ECC schools in Jeonju, Seoul and Geoje Island who are having been working there for many years and enjoying their experience.

If you were having such a bad time you could have given one month's notice and found another position in Korea which is not difficult to find especially when you are already in Korea on an E-2 visa.
+17 # RE: Completely DisagreeAnother ESLTeacher 2013-07-05 15:38
I assume that you mean re-sign and not resign. Because there have been 3 people who have recently resigned. As I'm sure you're aware the cost of resigning is very high and I have heard of people losing millions of won including having to pay the company a million won for a letter of release. Now that is bad practice. Don't presume that committing to finish the years contract means that someone is happy. Certainly it is sometimes better to endure and get the bonus at the end. I wonder why people are so keen to put down someone who can speak the truth about their experience, perhaps we feel a need to validate our own decisions. These decisions would change if your personal experience was different, particularly if it seriously impacted your health. Don't let your difference of opinion dictate your assumptions about someone. We all have the capacity for happiness. :)
+5 # RE: Completely DisagreeJimi Burden 2013-11-21 13:58
I am shocked that a YBM lackey would come on here and write this bollocks. Oh wait, no I'm not, since I know they monitor their employees' facebook accounts. This company is skidmark on the face of education.
-20 # RE: YBM ECC SSANGMUN SEOULESL Teacher 2013-06-27 07:18
I think it is a bit comical to see such a outlandish post. YBM is the biggest and highest grossing academic corporation in South Korea. Do you think they got to this point by cheating people??

Word has gone around that your boyfriend is still an employee for YBM. Is this true? If your boyfriend was pressured to doing all the things you posted, why would he want to stay?

* Most academies have an 'intensive schedule.' If you teach elementary or middle school students, you are almost certain to have a schedule change with more teaching hours. If you owned a business, wouldn't you try to cut costs while trying to make your employees efficient? You got your overtime pay, no? - quit complaining

** WORKSHEET TIME! -- No one likes to do R&D work, but all academies have some form of it. Also, I would like to see where the "YBM website it clearly states that teachers are not supposed to provide the teaching materials." Take a look at the sample contract: www.ybmecc.co.kr/contract.asp

*** Why would you need permission to eat after a blood test? You probably didn't convey to them that you were hungry.

**** The purpose of the "Relocation Allowance" of 200,000 won is to help with the costs of buying new bed sheets, curtains, and the Tupperware. Why would they prepare Tupperware for you? That is just ridiculous. A lot of academies don't even provide Relocation Allowance.

***** If you knew anything about the working culture in Korea, you would know that taking sick days is frowned upon. You either need a doctors note or the Supervisors approval to go home. If you went to the ER, the doctor would have definitely written a note for you. However, you didn't ask for one. That is why they stress the health check-up so much before coming to Korea, as you even stated that your first day of work was a trip to the hospital.
YBM is the only instutition that I know that provides bonuses for attendance.

Stated in 3.7 Attendance Bonus : "Under the 12-session contract employer will pay employee an attendance bonus for the following levels of attendance
300,000 Won bonus for missing no classes (Medical or non-medical reasons)
200,000 Won bonus for missing 5 or less classes (Medical or non-medical reasons)
100,000 Won bonus for missing 10 or less classes (Medical or non-medical reasons)"

This is probably why you had the record for the most sick days...

****** If you came with your boyfriend, who else would Ssangmun ECC contact? You ran away in the middle of the night and the academy was scrambling to cover your classes. If anything, you were the reason that your boyfriend and coworkers felt additional pressure and stress from the academy.

I am not trying to undermine some of the difficulties you went through, but to falsely comment on certain facts about the institution just isn't right. I hope you have a better working experience in Korea now that you know the cultural differences in the work environment... if there is a next time.
+16 # RE: YBM ECC SSANGMUN SEOULAnother ESLTeacher 2013-07-05 15:26
I find the original review to be fair and honest. It’s easy to presume that because you had a positive experience that other people’s opinions aren’t valid. There are many variables that are different for each individual. I wonder if you would be feeling as positive if you had to deal a serious illness and their lack of support, or working as an afternoon teacher and being bombarded with the unprecedented tactic of free classes to placate parents. Truth is, she did have a bad experience and everything written here happens to be true. I’m happy that you’re in a position to consider that comical, it certainly wasn’t comical for her.

YBM certainly didn’t earn their success by cheating people, however as the recession deepens and ECC hogwans close, it depends more on the professionalism of individuals, which in this case was sorely lacking. Furthermore many people choose to make the best of a bad situation and finish the contract for financial reasons, breaking the contract is a stressful decision to make, particularly when you are seriously ill and need emergency treatment.

While most academies have an intensive schedule, teachers hours are usually significantly less for most other academies. People turn to YBM for their reliability and professionalism . When this fails them, as it most certainly did in this case, that balance is lost. I’m sure that we would all love to own a business and “make our employees efficient,” however when an employee is overworked, working maximum hours alongside a few of her coworkers, and certainly more hours than any teacher I know in Korea, then I think it is fair to complain and let other prospective employees know. We have to make wise choices in this economic climate and it is a big step to work abroad. People certainly do not choose YBM for their overtime rate and most YBM teachers I have met prefer to avoid that.

As for worksheet time, again this is a fair criticism. It is not standard across all ECC’s and is certainly not mentioned in the contract. One of the major selling points of the company is that all the teaching materials are fully provided and that was certainly compromised in this case.

I think it is worth listening to the writer’s experience of being sick working for Ssangmun ECC. The truth is that nobody else commenting here appears to have shared that experience and so the judgements and assumptions in the reply comments are misplaced. It is ridiculous to assume that the number of sick days was a financial decision based on the pay structure. If finances were in the forefront of her mind, the massive cost of leaving the company before finishing the contract would have been avoided. There comes a point where despite the judgement and assumptions of individuals commenting here and despite the pressure of superiors who are scared of losing profit, your own health has to come first. It’s also worth mentioning the emotional blackmail and aggressive manner than management display when somebody decides they have to leave. She is not the only employee in recent times that had to face this.

As you say yourself, having a sick day is frowned upon. Now imagine dealing with an illness as it develops and becomes more serious being in a foreign country: the trivializing of the condition by superiors who’s superficial concern is paper thin, the embarrassment of your superiors gossiping about your condition to others and questioning it across the office, the aggressive financial threats and emotional manipulation of someone in a vulnerable position. This is not “cultural” and it certainly doesn’t reflect the Korea that I know. Nobody can be sure that they won’t get sick and her first trip to the hospital on the first day would have been the mandatory visit required by all new arrivals. While the companies primary concern has to be profit, the overall handling of the situation particularly by people who have now left the posts was poor and as such I think it’s fair to say that there are far better hogwans than Ssangmun ECC out there. For that matter many of the other ECC branches are run professionally and many people have good experiences.
-1 # 2 years at Ssangmun ECCSsangmun ECC teacher 2014-07-11 15:58
I worked at Ssangmun ECC for 2 years and I really enjoyed it. I will say that it is difficult to adjust to the hagwon teaching schedule, because they require a lot from you. I will also concur that starting in intensives is a bad introduction. That's the busiest time of the year when the elementary school kids are on vacation and they put on extra classes in the morning. How did I get through that? I just made friends with my co-workers (Korean and Foreign) and we would vent to each other, and go out together after work to let off steam and chill out.

There are some genuinely nice people at Ssangmun ECC. I can say that one of my foreign female co-workers ran away in the middle of the night, and then all of her classes were divvied up between the remaining workers, so that really sucked. It was very selfish of her to leave that way. She could have said "I don't want to be here anymore" and waited a month or maybe 6 weeks until a replacement is found. That way none of the coworkers are lumped with extra classes.

I saw many different personalities come and go in my 2 years at Ssangmun ECC, and the people that got the most out of their time, were flexible people and friendly with their Korean partner teachers. I still have good friends that work there. It took me at least 6 months to feel comfortable with the teaching schedule, but after I adjusted I loved it.

I have really good memories of working at Ssangmun ECC. Some of the people that the original reviewer was talking about. I know very well and they are nice people.

I understand could come in and feel defensive in this situation, but getting frustrated and thinking that everything and everyone is against you, is not a productive way to resolve these issues.

I made a lot of rookie mistakes at first, but I put my head down and tried my best, I was friendly with my coworkers and asked them for help. This is the way to make the best of a stressful situation at Ssangmun ECC. Everyone is in the same boat - make friends and work together.
-20 # RE: YBM ECC SSANGMUN SEOULESLTeacher 2013-06-29 06:53
The exaggerations & contradictions in this post are misleading to people thinking of joining YBM ECC.

The sample contract does mention the intensive courses, of which there are 2 per year, not 3. (Elementary school vacations)

The reason for leaving is contradicted. First it was due to the job, but later it was due to sickness.

The lesson to be learned is read your contract before you sign. If you sign a contract, you're agreeing to its terms. Break the terms & lose all your benefits. I don't think any school could owe money to a teacher that did a midnight run. Trying to get money out of a school after taking off without a word is naive.

YBM ECC Ssangmun is not the enemy. Read the contract! Research living in Korea! Know what to expect before you board the plane. Don't be surprised when people in Korea speak Korean, not English.

I imagine the OP would've had the same problems with any school.
# COMMENT_TITLE_R E YBM ECC SSANGMUN SEOULGuest 2013-07-06 12:11
This comment has been deleted by Administrator
-3 # RE: YBM ECC SSANGMUN SEOULsutefanii09 2013-12-24 09:03
Wow, sounds to me like someone is a little immature. I hate it when people constantly complain about EVERYTHING. In the future, try to make the best out of a negative situation and you will feel better. It sounds to me that you made up your mind from the start to have a miserable time and that is exactly what you did.
+3 # RE: YBM ECC SSANGMUN SEOULNai994 2014-01-12 16:01
^^ This reply sounds immature to me! Sounds as if the school was definitely abusing their power in this situation. I had a similar experience as the OP. YBM is known to do this sort of thing! Moral of the story- stay away from YBM!

School and Recruiters Review

American University Duhok Kurdistan (AUDK) - Private University - Kurdistan, Middle East

American University Duhok Kurdistan (AUDK) - Private University - Kurdistan, Middle East

Established in 2014, the American University Duhok Kurdis ...

Westwood International School - English Medium International School, Botswana, Africa

Westwood International School - English Medium International School, Botswana, Africa

Westwood International School is an English medium intern ...

Broadhurst Primary School - Private School - Botswana, Africa

The emphasis of the school is not on providing children w ...

The Oxford English Centre - Independent Language School - Oxford, England

The Oxford English Centre - Independent Language School - Oxford, England

The Oxford English Centre is an independent language scho ...

Green Valley School - Private English Language, trilingual school - Cairo, Egypt

Green Valley School - Private English Language, trilingual school - Cairo, Egypt

Green Valley School is a private English language, trilin ...

Cairo American College - International American School - Cairo, Egypt

Cairo American College - International American School - Cairo, Egypt

Cairo American College is a pre-K-12 international Americ ...

Gyeonggi Suwon International School (GSIS) - International School - South Korea

Gyeonggi Suwon International School (GSIS) - International School - South Korea

Gyeonggi Suwon International School (GSIS) opened its ...

Institute of American Education (IAE) - Private Education Group - Vietnam

Institute of American Education (IAE) - Private Education Group - Vietnam

Institute of American Education (IAE) was founded on the ...

TEFL warehouse - Online recruitment Agency - International

TEFL warehouse - Online recruitment Agency - International

Teflwarehouse.com is a brand new international education ...

Ahil English School - Private School - South Korea

Ahil English School - Private School - South Korea

Ahil English School are on the East Coast of Korea, Ulsan ...

Connecting Visions - Company - China

Connecting Visions - Company - China

Company profile Connecting Visions was established and ...

The Kilmore International School - Private International School - Victoria,Australia

The Kilmore International School - Private International School - Victoria,Australia

The Kilmore International School is modelled on internati ...

Quality Schools International (QSI) - Non-Profit School Organization - International

Quality Schools International (QSI) - Non-Profit School Organization - International

Quality Schools International (QSI) is a non-profit schoo ...

St George’s College - Private, Non-Profit Schools - Buenos Aires, Argentina

St George’s College - Private, Non-Profit Schools - Buenos Aires, Argentina

St George’s College is a private, non-profit, bilin ...

International School of Kabul (ISK) - Special Private International School - Afghanistan

International School of Kabul (ISK) - Special Private International School - Afghanistan

International School of Kabul (ISK), In 2008 when ISK rec ...

Shichida Child Education Institute - Franchise - International

Shichida Child Education Institute, Ltd. (Japan) was esta ...

NETwork Education Solutions - Recruitment Agency - China

NETwork Education Solutions - Recruitment Agency - China

NETwork Education Solutions Ltd was founded in 2011 by En ...

Pollard International School - Secondary School - China

Pollard International School - Secondary School - China

Pollard International School is a school in Kunming, Yunn ...

The Guney Education Group - International School - Turkey

The Guney Education Group - International School - Turkey

The Guney Education Group is one of the leading providers ...

ECHO English - Recruiting Agency - China

ECHO English - Recruiting Agency - China

ECHO English is a proud and longstanding teaching institu ...

Lynn English Academy - Private School - South Korea

Lynn English Academy - Private School - South Korea

Lynn English academy is a family ran academy in north Seo ...

MNJ consulting - Recruiter - South Korea

MNJ consulting - Recruiter - South Korea

MnJ consulting, South Korea. Company is looking for good ...

Mawar Sharon Christian School - Christian School - Indonesia

Mawar Sharon Christian School - Christian School - Indonesia

Mawar Sharon Christian School integrates the entire Bible ...

Poppins Active Learning International School (PALIS) - Private International - Japan

Poppins Active Learning International School (PALIS) - Private International - Japan

Poppins Active Learning International School is an intern ...

Korea National College of Agriculture and Fisheries - Private College - South Korea

Korea National College of Agriculture and Fisheries - Private College - South Korea

Due to the agreement of UR negotiation and embarkment of ...

Cheju Tourism College - Private Technical College - South Korea

Cheju Tourism College - Private Technical College - South Korea

Cheju Tourism College is a private technical college on S ...

Jeju National University of Education - Teacher-Training University - South Korea

Jeju National University of Education - Teacher-Training University - South Korea

Jeju National University of Education is the only teacher ...

Washington Institute of Education - South Korea

Washington Institute of Education - South Korea

Washington Institute of Education conducts educational pr ...

Jeju National University - South Korean National University - South Korea

Jeju National University - South Korean National University - South Korea

Jeju National University is a South Korean national unive ...

Cheju Halla University - Private University - South Korea

Cheju Halla University - Private University - South Korea

Cheju Halla University is a private university in Jeju Ci ...

Changwon National University - Public Institution - South Korea

Changwon National University - Public Institution - South Korea

Changwon National University is a public institution of h ...

Changwon Polytechnic College - South Korea

Changwon Polytechnic College - South Korea

Changwon Polytechnic College provides technical training ...

Changshin University - Private Christian University - South Korea

Changshin University - Private Christian University - South Korea

Changshin University is a private Christian university lo ...

Catholic University of Pusan - Catholic University - South Korea

Catholic University of Pusan - Catholic University - South Korea

The Catholic University of Pusan is situated in the south ...

Catholic University of Korea - Private Roman Catholic Institution - South Korea

Catholic University of Korea - Private Roman Catholic Institution - South Korea

The Catholic University of Korea is a private Roman Catho ...

Catholic University of Daegu - Catholic-Affiliated University - South Korea

Catholic University of Daegu - Catholic-Affiliated University - South Korea

The Catholic University of Daegu is the largest Catholic- ...

Catholic Sangji College - Private 2-year College - South Korea

Catholic Sangji College - Private 2-year College - South Korea

Catholic Sangji College is a private 2-year college affil ...

Capital Baptist Theological Seminary - Christian School - South Korea

Capital Baptist Theological Seminary - Christian School - South Korea

Capital Baptist Theological Seminary is a Christian schoo ...

Calvin University - Presbyterian-Affiliated University - South Korea

Calvin University - Presbyterian-Affiliated University - South Korea

Calvin University is a Presbyterian-affiliated university ...

Helen Doron English - Franchise - International

Helen Doron English - Franchise - International

Helen Doron – World Leader in the ESL (English as a ...

Byuksung College - Private Technical College - South Korea.

Byuksung College - Private Technical College - South Korea.

Byuksung College is a private technical college located i ...

Busan Polytechnic College - Private Two-Year Technical College - South Korea.

Busan Polytechnic College - Private Two-Year Technical College - South Korea.

Busan Polytechnic College, formerly Busan IT Polytechnic ...

The Busan National University of Education - Government Supported - South Korea

The Busan National University of Education - Government Supported - South Korea

The Busan National University of Education is a governmen ...

Busan Kyungsang College - Private College - South Korea

Busan Kyungsang College - Private College - South Korea

Busan Kyungsang College is a college located in the Yeonj ...

Busan Presbyterian University - Private Christian University - South Korea.

Busan Presbyterian University - Private Christian University - South Korea.

Busan Presbyterian University, also known as Busan Jangsi ...

Busan Institute of Science and Technology - Private College - South Korea.

Busan Institute of Science and Technology - Private College - South Korea.

Busan Institute of Science and Technology is a private co ...

Bucheon College - Private Technical College - South Korea.

Bucheon College - Private Technical College - South Korea.

Bucheon College is a private technical college in Bucheon ...

Baewha Women's University - Private Christian University - South Korea

Baewha Women's University - Private Christian University - South Korea

Baewha Women's University is a private Christian univ ...

Baekseok University - Private Christian Institution of Higher Education - South Korea

Baekseok University - Private Christian Institution of Higher Education - South Korea

Baekseok University is a private Christian institution of ...

Baekseok Culture University - Christian Private College - South Korea

Baekseok Culture University - Christian Private College - South Korea

Baekseok Culture University, formerly Cheonan College of ...

Baekseok Arts University - Christian University - South Korea

Baekseok Arts University - Christian University - South Korea

Baekseok Arts University (백석예술대학교) is a Christian univers ...

Asia LIFE University - Christian University - South Korea

Asia LIFE University - Christian University - South Korea

Asia LIFE University also known as Gospel Theological Sem ...

Anyang University - Private University - South Korea

Anyang University - Private University - South Korea

Anyang University is a private university in Korea. It as ...

Ansung Women's Polytechnic College - Polytechnic College - South Korea

Ansung Women's Polytechnic College - Polytechnic College - South Korea

Ansung Women's Polytechnic College is South Korea' ...

Ansan College of Technology - Private Technical College - South Korea

Ansan College of Technology - Private Technical College - South Korea

Ansan College of Technology (also called Ansan Technical ...

Ansan University - Two-Year University - South Korea

Ansan University - Two-Year University - South Korea

Ansan University (Hangul: 안산대학교) opened its doors as Inch ...

Andong Science College - Technical College - South Korea

Andong Science College - Technical College - South Korea

Andong Science College is a small technical college in Se ...

Andong National University - University - South Korea

Andong National University - University - South Korea

Andong National University is a government-operated unive ...

Kundong University - Technical College - South Korea

Kundong University - Technical College - South Korea

Kundong University, sometimes called Andong Info Tech or ...

Ajou University - Research University - South Korea

Ajou University - Research University - South Korea

Ajou University, established in 1973 under the motto of & ...

Ajou Motor College, formerly Daecheon College - Private Technical College - South Korea

Ajou Motor College, formerly Daecheon College - Private Technical College - South Korea

Ajou Motor College, formerly Daecheon College, is a priva ...

Agricultural Cooperative College - Private Technical College - South Korea

Agricultural Cooperative College - Private Technical College - South Korea

Agricultural Cooperative College is a private technical c ...

Forsun International Education - Company - China

Forsun International Education - Company - China

Forsun International Education is an American-based organ ...

Chengdu Meishi International School - China

Chengdu Meishi International School - China

Chengdu Meishi International School is a school in Chengd ...

Acacia School - International School - Malawi

Acacia School - International School - Malawi

Acacia School is situated in spacious and secure grounds ...

Utahloy International School Day & Boarding - China

Utahloy International School Day & Boarding - China

The school's professional teaching staff has a variet ...

Hyundai Foreign School - International School - Ulsan

Hyundai Foreign School - International School - Ulsan

Hyundai Foreign School provides a broad and balanced educ ...

The American School of Bombay - International School - India

The American School of Bombay - International School - India

The American School of Bombay is a co-educational, intern ...

Braeburn High School - International School - Kenya

Braeburn High School - International School - Kenya

Braeburn High School is an international School in Nairob ...

Oberoi International School - International School - India

Oberoi International School - International School - India

At Oberoi International School, we aim to empower our stu ...

Yew Chung International School (YCIS) - International School - Hong Kong

Yew Chung International School (YCIS) - International School - Hong Kong

Yew Chung International School (YCIS) offers Early Childh ...

British School Muscat - International School - Oman

British School Muscat - International School - Oman

British School Muscat established in 1971, is one of the ...

Songkhla International School - International School - Thailand

Songkhla International School - International School - Thailand

Our School is recognised as the only quality internationa ...

Ambrosoli International School - Primary School - Uganda

Ambrosoli International School - Primary School - Uganda

In all primary classes we now use the International Prima ...

King Fahd University of Petroleum & Minerals (KFUPM) - University - Middle East

King Fahd University of Petroleum & Minerals (KFUPM) - University - Middle East

King Fahd University of Petroleum & Minerals (KFUPM) ...

Britannica International School - Private School - Russia

Britannica International School - Private School - Russia

Britannica Int. school offer's competitive packages d ...

Henan Polytechnic University (HPU) - University - China

Henan Polytechnic University (HPU) - University - China

Henan Polytechnic University (HPU), with a long history, ...

Golden Staffing - Rcruiter - International

Golden Staffing - Rcruiter - International

While we strive to give potential teachers as many option ...

Espace Corporation - School - Japan

Espace Corporation - School - Japan

Espace Corporation is located in Takasaki, which is in th ...

Gwangcheon Sahmyook Elementary School - Private School - South Korea

Gwangcheon Sahmyook Elementary School - Private School - South Korea

Sahmyook Elementary school is a small private [7th Day Ad ...

Daejeon Sahmyook Elementary School - Private School - South Korea

Daejeon Sahmyook Elementary School - Private School - South Korea

Daejeon Sam Yook Elementary School is a private Adventist ...

Korea Poly School - Franchise - South Korea

Korea Poly School - Franchise - South Korea

KOREAPOLYSCHOOL - With over 41 campuses, POLY has emerged ...

Red Wagon English - Private English Institute - South Korea

Red Wagon English - Private English Institute - South Korea

Red Wagon is a private English institute for children age ...

Hubei ClickChina Cultural Exchange Co., Ltd - Recruiting Agency - China

Hubei ClickChina Cultural Exchange Co., Ltd - Recruiting Agency - China

Hubei ClickChina Cultural Exchange Co., Ltd&nbs ...

Network ESL - Recruiter - China

Network ESL - Recruiter - China

NETWORK ESL has been established in China for 6 years now ...

Enke education International Culture Exchange Center - Recruiter - China

Enke education International Culture Exchange Center - Recruiter - China

Enke education International Culture Exchange Center is a ...

Find Work Abroad - Recruiting Agency - China

Find Work Abroad - Recruiting Agency - China

Find Work Abroad was established in 2010 by Atti Infante, ...

English Excel - Schools - China

English Excel - Schools - China

English Excel was founded 10 years ago with the aim of pr ...

RAY English Recruitment - Recruiter - China

RAY English Recruitment - Recruiter - China

RAY English we take a different approach to finding Engli ...

Maple Leaf - Schools - China

Maple Leaf - Schools - China

MLES opened its first school in Dalian, PR China in 1995 ...

Hangzhou International School - School - China

Hangzhou International School - School - China

Hangzhou International School is a Pre-School through 12t ...

The Ivy Group - Schools - China

The Ivy Group - Schools - China

The Ivy Group is dedicated to building and investing in p ...

Bilingo-China International Education Group - China

Bilingo-China International Education Group - China

Bilingo-China International Education Group was founded i ...

SeoulESL - Recruitment Agency - South Korea

SeoulESL - Recruitment Agency - South Korea

SeoulESL Inc. . is a Seoul-based ESL recruiting company l ...

Park English Recruitment Agency - Recruitment Agency - South Korea

Park English Recruitment Agency - Recruitment Agency - South Korea

Park English is a bilingual and bicultural company based ...

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15
  16. 16
  17. 17
  18. 18
  19. 19
  20. 20
  21. 21
  22. 22
  23. 23
  24. 24
  25. 25
  26. 26
  27. 27

ESLwatch Support

Please consider supporting our efforts.

Amount:


Support our Friends and Sponsors

English Job Finder or EJF for short

The Best resource for finding an English teaching job abroad.

EnglishJobFinder.com

China Foreign Teachers Union or CFTU for short

Volunteer organisation protecting teachers in China.

ChinaForeignTeachersUnion.org

China Scam Watch

Blacklist site for China and more.

chinascamwatch.org

  •  

Latest Review

3.9
Ratings 3.9/5 from 110 users.
5 78
4 1
3 3
2 2
1 26
Reviews: 51

Average Review Times

  • 3.72/10
    Overall experience
  • 3.39/10
    Overall professionalism
  • 5.06/10
    Work location
  • 4.83/10
    Living situation
  • 4.22/10
    Pay & benefits
  • 3.72/10
    Support & facilities
  • 4.83/10
    Health & safety
5 CD Sockpuppetry by redorangeblack

Chungdahm has also been sued repeatedly for violating contract and labor law.  Heck, I'm willing to ...

→ 2 days ago
5 Chungdahm Institute/Chungdahm April Institute (CDI) South Korea by ateacher

I have work for Chungdahm April for over two years, and am into my third ...

→ 2 days ago
5 MnJ is an excellent and efficient company. by Vladimir

Hi, I was stuck in a very bad job situation abroad and had to run away ...

→ 4 days ago
5 Facts are Facts by Blastfromthepast

This school may have an illegal clause in its employment contract. Make sure to carefully ...

→ 12 days ago
5 Started strong and ended badly by star32569

So Emily is great and a wonderful person who works hard but I think she ...

→ 14 days ago
2 Not horrible but not the best either by star32569

I will get straight to the point with this review. The company is okay for ...

→ 14 days ago

Recent Article Review