Home

Colleagues Need YOUR Advice

As International educators, we are ALL looking for schools that meet &/or exceed our expectations. As you know, recruiting season is year round & YOUR School Review can greatly benefit colleagues in the process of researching schools for a potential upcoming career move. Keeping Each Other Informed is what ESLwatch is all about!

 

If you had an outstanding experience at your last school, spread the word! Or, on the flip side, remember: You know you promised yourself you would write a School Review once safely away from that previous, not-so-good Institution. Now is the time to keep that promise!

 

Or, have you just getting settled into a new institution? Why not share your first impressions on the location, the administration and your enviroment? Your colleagues will appreciate the insight!

None of us can afford to leave our careers to chance. Share your experience, and, as always, your anonymity is guaranteed!

 

To start

Add an institute for review

Open Panel

Search ESLwatch

Log in Register

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *

EBlacklisted: Treville Foreign Language School scam - Guilin, Guangxiverything about this job offer was perfect for me. Located in Guilin, fair salary (for the region), full visa services. I guess it should have hit me in the beginning where I had to ask several times for a contract to sign. Or perhaps when the school just hired me - with no interview. Nevertheless, I ignored it.

The problems began shortly after I had arrived. I met the infamous "Kristy" a few days in. She took me out for a fancy meal and laughed and joked with me. She seemed nice and like she was going to be the kind of employer who would take care of her employees well. When I asked the other teachers about her however, they would all give me warnings and say "you will see".

And that is exactly what I did. Not only does she take chunks out of our salaries by giving us rather sneaky working hours, but also fails to remember to pay for things promised in the contract, such as apartment allowance & transportation fees, forcing me to pay out of my own savings. I never did get that money back. Visas were another hassle, we argued regularly on this issue and she didn't seem very interested to help me. Every company has problems, but how is the employer going to handle these problems? In "Kristy's" case, you will be blamed, pushed, and put down. For a while I thought I was the only one having these problems and that she just didn't like me, but then I found out that 80% of the other teachers are facing similar, if not, the same struggles.

My colleagues and I would always say that we wish there were warnings or reviews about Treville on the internet. I hope this is not the last one. I am writing this not to be mean or hateful, just a warning to other teachers before even thinking of taking on this "dream offer".

PS - There is no "Treville Foreign Language School", there is however, you running around town from one school to another.

Comments  

-15 # RE: Treville Foreign Language School scam - Guilin, GuangxiBFN 2013-05-01 15:59
This is a highly dubious and questionable review. Considering the school has a good reputation, both online and IRL, the burden of proof is on the OP to provide a baseline for these accusations.

I worked at Treville for an academic year and didn't experience any problems, with the management or elsewhere.

Furthermore, the pay-to-workload ratio compared to the school's domestic competition was excellent.

Like any other ESL job in China, your experience is what you make of it: If you have a good mental attitude, reasonable expectations and an understanding that you're living and working in an environment that's ripe for cross-cultural communication differences, then you'll be okay.

But if you come to China and expect everything on a silver platter just because you're a foreigner, then you're going to have a real hard time.
+11 # RE: Treville Foreign Language School scam - Guilin, GuangxiUKF 2013-06-26 02:23
I have to agree entirely with this review, if anything it does not go far enough. I didn't expect an easy ride in China and to be honest I also acted fairly blindly in agreeing to work for Treville and Kristy Wang when there seemed to be no selection process and a single skype interview which I myself requested.

However, the management of the 'school' is appalling. After signing a contract I received only half of my wages in the first month and Krsity sent me through a new contract which she claimed was the one I signed. After I prodcued the PDF signed copy of the original and effectively threatened to quit she agreed to pay me the full amount. Kristy will lie to you and underpay (usually late underpayment) you at every opportuity. She bullies the Chinese teaching assistants horrendously and if you disagree with you her she will spend alot of time trying to make you pay for it financially. She probably delivers about half of what she promises you before you arrive. The Kristy you speak to by email and (possibly) Skype is not the one you will encounter when you get to Guilin.

The proof is in the statistics - of 10 teachers that started the term when I worked there by the end of term 8 had quit and the others were only staying as they needed the money. The Chinese teaching assistants turn over even more quickly as they get treated so appallingly.

The organisation of getting you to and from classes and timetabling is shocking, you literally have to figure out everything for yourself and often in the morning have no idea where you are expected to be teaching that day, makes preparation very hard. Expect the first month to be the most stressful of your entire life, even if you are used to high-pressure jobs.

I worked at a couple of other places in Guilin and the organisation and culture was completely different. My advice if you want to go to Guilin is to approach the universities or other language schools, or go direct to some of the middle schools. From what I could find out and what I experienced of other employers their pay-to-workload was better than working for Trevil.le

If you want to sing pre-written songs from poor teaching resources to 2-6 year olds and get treated badly and aggressively by a vicious and lying employer then work for Treville Foreign Language School.

As a final aside, I should add that I was one of the more favoured teachers as I was too weak willed to argue back most of the time and usually allowed Kristy to win arguments with me. What my colleagues at the time would say far outstrips any negative comments I have made here.

I strongly recommend you do not work for Treville Foreign Language School.
-10 # RE: Treville Foreign Language School scam - Guilin, GuangxiGuilin Expat 2013-07-08 14:47
In the semester that I have worked for Treville Foreign Language School Kristy has paid me on time and in full so I am not sure what happened to this poster. Fro The pay work to ratio is also quite competitive for Guilin.
+8 # RE: Treville Foreign Language School scam - Guilin, GuangxiRIP 2013-06-29 22:12
The more I see reviews like these makes me never to want to work in China.

I would say if you think that there is something not right about the employer you maybe right. Also if a school employs you with no interview or that you have to request for one then do not go for the job.
+10 # RE: Treville Foreign Language School scam - Guilin, GuangxiHEH 2013-07-14 06:48
LOL. U MAD?

This woman is a criminal, pure and simple. Agree with the other posters: Steer clear, people. Run away.
-11 # Treville Foreign Language SchoolKristy Wang 2013-07-30 06:13
Dear (Name removed by email request 17/10/14),

In its decade-long existence, Treville has cooperated with dozens of educational institutions and hundreds of foreign teachers across the country and we have yet to experience either party say a negative thing about our corporation and our internal policies.

While I regret that our professional relationship ended on a bad note, the reasons why we decided not to sign a contract for the next term was due to a series of irreconcilable professional and personal differences.

The main reason for the school’s decision to opt out of signing a contract is because you have neither a TEFL certificate nor high school diploma: both are required for teaching English in China and the absence of either, much less both of them, makes it difficult for us to obtain the proper paperwork to ensure the legality and safety of your time in the country.

These requirements are plainly visible on our website.

Furthermore, the misrepresentati on regarding your nationality—you claimed Canadian nationality, a demonstrable untruth—is damaging for a number of reasons, namely to our reputation with both our satellite schools, our clients and our connections within the local government and law enforcement agencies, the latter of whom we have informed about your libelous and illegal behavior.

They are pending further action.

On a professional level, your insubordinate was also grounds for termination. Your teaching style, to name one example, was in stark contrast from our method. When I tried to correct you and offer professional criticism, your response was unwarranted and again, unprofessional.

In terms of compensation, your paycheck was derived according to the contract that Vivian sent to you earlier. In the event that a mistake was made—it’s true that sometimes mistakes are made after miscalculation— the opportunity exists to correct in a civil and courteous manner.

Your solution, to yell at everyone and refuse to work, was unprofessional and factored into our decision to dissolve our professional relationship.

There are other professional considerations, as well, including visa issue and your personal conduct, both towards myself and other staff members.

All of this being said, I regret that our relationship ended on such an unpleasant note.

To protect the school’s professional reputation, I will be forced to enter your name into a publicly available blacklist designed to warn other schools in the country about your behavior.

Inclusion on this list may also result in a lifetime ban from entering the People’s Republic of China again as well as a large fine and/or possible jail time.

I look forward to reaching a conclusion to this issue that will be beneficially for both of us.

Best regards,

Kristy Wang
-2 # RE: Treville Foreign Language SchoolAmazed 2013-07-30 20:53
Wow! That is a response!
+1 # RE: Treville Foreign Language SchoolBob 2014-07-09 09:15
Quoting Kristy Wang:
Dear (Name removed via email request 18/1014)
In its decade-long existence, Treville has cooperated with dozens of educational institutions and hundreds of foreign teachers across the country and we have yet to experience either party say a negative thing about our corporation and our internal policies.

While I regret that our professional relationship ended on a bad note, the reasons why we decided not to sign a contract for the next term was due to a series of irreconcilable professional and personal differences.

The main reason for the school’s decision to opt out of signing a contract is because you have neither a TEFL certificate nor high school diploma: both are required for teaching English in China and the absence of either, much less both of them, makes it difficult for us to obtain the proper paperwork to ensure the legality and safety of your time in the country.

These requirements are plainly visible on our website.


So she didn't have what you say she needed to teach at your school, but you still employed her?

Regardless of anything else, an organisation that doesn't follow its own rules or those of the country it's based in doesn't sound particularly appealing to me.
+9 # RE: Treville Foreign Language School scam - Guilin, GuangxiBlackExcellence 2013-07-31 07:38
Are you so stupid to think that every negative comment is a result of one poster with an axe to grind? God, this is a textbook example of schools to avoid while looking for jobs in China. Better change the name of your school because there's no way in hell that you're going to win this PR battle.
-9 # RE: Treville Foreign Language School scam - Guilin, GuangxiFiona Bell 2014-01-04 18:29
I worked for treville a few years ago and was very happy with the working environment. Kristy was very helpful. On occasion wages were late, but if youve been in china a while this is to be expected. The salary paid for the work done is very good. Many workers in china work much longer and harder than you are expected to for much less pay. If you want to go to china and experience a different way of life and culture be open minded and dont expect work and conditions to be the same as at home. Perhaps some of the people posting on here dont have much or any real life work experience before taking a role such as this on. If you did you would know that all jobs, here and abroad have good bits and bad and its how you approach the job that makes the difference. Dont get me wrong, some days I did come home and cry, but ive dobe that with my job in the uk on numerous occasions too. Open your mind and embrace the differences in culture, then go home and let this experience both good and bad make you a better person.

ESLwatch - Information, News, Forum and ReviewsAdd your institution

Add Your Institution for Review past or present. We will then email you back with a link so you can review your school, college, university, recruiter, company, individual or online website click our image, kindly take few minutes to fill in the review form.

 
This site is free and is run by volunteers as a resource for teachers, parents and students.

 

Recently Added

Donut's English (Donut English) is an online website located in Beijing, China. Address: No.6 Haidian Zhongjie, Haidian District, Beijing 100080...
Guangzhou Saintshine Education Service Co. Ltd. is a recruiter located in Guangzhou, China. Address: Tianhe District, Guangzhou, 510000, China. Website: Guangzhou...
St. Stephen’s International School has a couple of international schools located in Thailand. Address: Bangkok campus - 998 Viphavadi Rangsit Road,...
Marie Witthaya School is a private school located in Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand. Address: 386 Mukkamontri Rd, Tambon Nai Mueang, Amphoe...
Moxon English is an online website located in London, United Kingdom. Address: London, United Kingdom. Website: Moxon English...
OTeacher (O-Teacher) is an online website located in Tehran, Iran. Address: Tehran, Iran. Website: OTeacher (O-Teacher)...
Panda ABC is an online website located in Zhejiang, China. Address: Floor 3, Tongren Square, Xihu District, Hangzhou City, 310000,...

Connect With Us Today

We believe it’s important to stay closely connected with the great individuals and organizations in the ESL/EFL industry, and what better way than through social media? We’re constantly posting updates online and participating in the buzz.

Please consider connecting with us on the following social media websites to stay up-to-date and connected!

 

Select a Country

Have you added your Institution!

Add your institution for review!

Thank for using ESLwatch, just one more thing before you go. Have you added your institution for review?

Does not matter if it is a school, college, university, recruiter, company, individual or online website that you have had dealings with in the past or present. The review form only takes a few minutes and you do not have to review the institution yourself.

 

Add Your Institution for Review

x