China

Search ESLwatch

Log in Register

Log in

Blacklisted: Best EnglishBest English Training in Yantai SCAM This company used many tactics to take money from their staff members, inadvertently (I’m sure) abusing their staff in the process. They deliberately over hire staff. It’s a small company, no one could know how many teachers they require until after signing the contract. Once teachers have arrived from their home countries they are required to give up significant sums of money as a deposit. After a while more and more appalling treatment begins to be used against them; each being played off against the others with threats, punishment, slander, slur and drastic increases or decreases of workload (forced to turn up regardless of whether or not there were classes) those without z-visas feel the pressure the most. A test to see who was most likely to accept ever lowering standards and attempt to force those who will not to quit. It didn’t matter how many times the absurdity of this situation was raised. People went to discuss the matter with the best intentions only to have themselves shouted at.

When someone quits, their deposits are taken, pay is not given, all documents are withheld and contact is cut with threats of legal action, and the game continues for those who were left… with lower standards of work (until they quit, and so on it goes…). This illustrates just one of the methods of an employer who is willing at all costs to make a mint (they cut every corner possible), with absolute disregard and mercilessness toward the teachers. Not to mention that students and parents are also being short changed with teachers dropping in and out, and unable to get a refund, which is a shame as the students are great. But that is neither here nor there. I hope this will be the last time such a strategy is used.  

I advise teachers to be very cautious about accepting a job here. They have many other tricks and plenty of wriggle room in the contract to attempt to justify them. If there are people who now work there, take care of each other.

 

Please do not review this article, review the company located on the link below:

Best English Training (BET) - School - China

Pin It

Comments  

0 # ReviewGwendolyn 2014-01-21 18:33
Since you are in Heze, What do you know of this school? I may have a job there but I find nothing about them on the net.
+1 # RE: BEWARE - BET Best English Training YantaiBestest English Trai 2014-02-02 20:29
I also worked there, and would like to say everything in this post is true and would like to add that contract says no more than 25 hours but they will just give you more and more regardless of complaints. Also if you work under 25 hours in a week be prepared to be told you have to sit in the office for the remainder of the time, for example after a holiday expect a whole teaching day devoted to being sat in an office under the guise of "testing students".
0 # RE: BEWARE - BET Best English Training Yantairunningman 2014-04-06 14:34
I worked there also and was there when Stange279 quitted and got into trouble with the local labor bureau. I kind of knew that he quitted because he wanted to spend more time with his Chinese girlfriend instead of going to work. Of course everyone would prefer to stay at home rather than go to work. lol. It was a pretty big deal when it happened. If I was not wrong, he was blacklisted by the Yantai Foreign Experts Bureau and was not able to have his Z-visa extended because his breach of contract. From my point of view what the Stange279 is saying is not true. I taught around 20 hours per week with two days off. The staff were all supportive and helpful. Some of us did work overtime, but they agreed and got paid over time as the contract stated. Plus it was funny when we figured out Stange279 insisted that his 10 minutes breaks were supposed to be included in the teaching hours. That was a good laugh. Anyway, I think the school was fair to me and I saw the efforts that the management made to support me working and living there. My advise, read the contract before signing. In the end of the day, there will be consequences if we were to breach any contracts we sign anywhere in the world. Now I have heard about the China foreign teachers black list. I bet it's not going to be easy for us foreign teachers to teach in China in the future.
+1 # RE: BEWARE - BET Best English Training YantaiEsl teach 2014-05-28 14:31
Quoting runningman:
I worked there also and was there when Stange279 quitted and got into trouble with the local labor bureau. I kind of knew that he quitted because he wanted to spend more time with his Chinese girlfriend instead of going to work. Of course everyone would prefer to stay at home rather than go to work. lol. It was a pretty big deal when it happened. If I was not wrong, he was blacklisted by the Yantai Foreign Experts Bureau and was not able to have his Z-visa extended because his breach of contract. From my point of view what the Stange279 is saying is not true. I taught around 20 hours per week with two days off. The staff were all supportive and helpful. Some of us did work overtime, but they agreed and got paid over time as the contract stated. Plus it was funny when we figured out Stange279 insisted that his 10 minutes breaks were supposed to be included in the teaching hours. That was a good laugh. Anyway, I think the school was fair to me and I saw the efforts that the management made to support me working and living there. My advise, read the contract before signing. In the end of the day, there will be consequences if we were to breach any contracts we sign anywhere in the world. Now I have heard about the China foreign teachers black list. I bet it's not going to be easy for us foreign teachers to teach in China in the future.


Someone is a chinese non native english speaker, would that be you?
+1 # RE: BEWARE - BET Best English Training YantaiGuest 2014-05-07 19:28
Hi, I also used to work at this school. Unfortunately I was around when the old boss (who was much nicer and open-minded) had to move to Canada to look after her son (understandable ) and sold most of BET to the current boss, who has no idea how to keep people happy, along with another young dude who was actually a cool guy TBH but they clashed all the time, openly arguing and swearing in the hallways (in English, but still...). A longtime teacher at BET (4 years under the old, nicer boss) resigned while I was there. One of the TAs (teaching assistants) turned tattletale on the remaining teachers and the other TA (who was nicer and we were friends with) was sacked. Ok, the new boss did "try" some new things and "new" ideas, but too much in too short a time. Also teachers being forced to work OT on the holidays without advance notice was kinda a dick move. TBH OT was paid, so at least THAT was taken care of, but still.

I do hope it has improved, but I highly doubt it honestly. The old boss was much nicer, it was sad how it deteriorated so quickly. The one bad thing the old boss did was first to invite us to lunch with the new boss and the cool dude. We thought, sure why not, let's meet some new people. Only when the old boss left for Canada did we discover that these people were not OUR BOSSES! It was INSANE. Morale dropped like a rock after that. Those of you who came after me, I don't envy you guys at all. Yantai's a nice city with some alright beaches and a laidback vibe that's actually pretty pleasant. It was unfortunate how it turned out in this school. I just stuck out the remainder of my contract and left so we did leave on good terms. But the last few months of my contract were not a pleasant experience.
+1 # Teaching Jobs In China Coastal CitiesCFTU 2014-07-29 03:24
Yantai was listed in the top ten cities "to live work and play" by 2,000 expat teachers polled by the CFTU. If you want to work there or any other Chinese coastal city with a WHITE-LISTED employer, contact us with your resume, photo, and Skype contact at and we will put you in direct contact with the employer so you can ask all your questions and negotiate directly without the perils of an agent. This service is completely free with no strings attached.
3.0/5 from 2 ratings.
  • Experience
  • Professionalism
  • Work location
  • Living situation
  • Pay & benefits
  • Support & facilities
  • Health & safety
Summary rating
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
BET - Do not work here
2 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
Save yourself a problem and don't work here.
Quick and easy review:

1. Living conditions - The owner of the school owns the apartment where you will live. It is a basic studio and has all normal amenities. You may however find yourself kicked out randomly or locked out at the owners' whim.

2. The owner has temper tantrums seemingly due to being a spoiled as a child. These will be used against you in various ways - random salary deductions, finding your apartment locks are changed with all your stuff inside, hours changed and added or removed or various other things.

3. Timetabling You may find yourself working 25 hours but with 20-30 minutes 'break' in between each 30 minute period, the breaks are unpaid and not included in your 25 week work hour limit

There are many more things wrong with the school but these are the basics and should immediately be told.
The pros
Yantai is a great beach city situated in a special economic area making the area rich and prosperous. Generally a good city
The cons
So many, just don't work here. Maybe not the worst in China but definitely not a positive experience.
Institution Location
Yantai BET
Show more
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
Can a leopard change its spots?
3 years ago.
Institute Review
This information was originally intended as a comment but I cannot work out how to leave a comment and I have made this a supplementary review to the ‘updated’ review.

The process of handover between managers is almost bound to contain conflict but to interpret past complaints as ‘handover’ issues is to misconstrue the facts. Sure, the old teachers all left. And what happened to the new teachers? They left too. And their replacements? Well, none of us were Canadian or American.  BET didn’t learn their lesson.

It didn’t have to be that way. It was a deliberate decision by the manager to manipulate and nickel and dime her employees because (1) she could; and (2) she believed there would be no consequences.

I will add that as far as I am concerned the ‘updated’ description of the BET accommodation is accurate.  What is not mentioned though is that it is owned by the manager’s f*ther, leaving teachers in a weak position should things go awry… One colleague, who at the time was still employed, was evicted from their apartment for a period as ‘punishment’. I am not exaggerating.

If the ‘updated’ review is genuine, best of luck to you. I hope your experience continues to be a good one.

To anyone else considering working for this training center I suggest you pay close attention to the facts recently stated so as not to be caught in the same situation as many in the past. My experience was anything but ‘fair and trustworthy’. Should there be any discrepancies with what is claimed (for example, if this ‘American and Canadian’ school turns out to have teachers from a mixture of other nationalities (not that there is anything wrong non-native English teachers!)) take it as an omen and steer clear. It might be the first lie of many to come.
Show more
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
  • ESLwatch 3 years ago.
    Dear reviewer,
    If you logged in you will have found you can comment against a review. This article is on our old format and we are currently waiting for details of this school. Please Add Your Institution for Review top of all pages of this website.
    Admin Team
    ESLwatch.info

Reviewer
1 rating(s).
4 helpful voted.
An Updated Review of Best English Training
4 years ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I currently work here, and am very happy with it. I know about the previous drama, and it sounds like blame can be laid on all sides.But I can say from experience that it is not easy to take over a leadership position from someone else who has a totally different style. When this happens, there's just going to be turnover, no matter what. Well, all the old teachers are gone now, and the new staff are very happy now. All the teachers here are native English speakers from America or Canada. Nothing is perfect, but I am very happy here. 

I've worked in many different fields under many different bosses, and I can say from experience that the current owner is fair and trustworthy. She spent 7 years in Canada, so her English is excellent, and she is well aware of western standards. She has gone far out of here way to make us comfortable and make sure we are alright. 

The provided apartment is small, but clean and nice. The lady I took over for demanded they provide her with a bathtub, lol! It's at a very convenient location on a main road, next to a supermarket, restaurants and the bus stop. The beach is only a couple blocks away. 

The location of the school is about 10 - 15 minutes by bus, or 30 minutes by foot. It's super easy to get there from home because it's a straight shot. 

The pay and benefits are what you can expect for your level of experience in this market.

The office staff are very helpful and supportive. They have helped me on many many occasions, making my transition here pretty easy. 

We required to hand in our lesson plans once a month, and there are testing hours. So if you're looking for a place to coast by without doing anything outside of class hours, this isn't the place for you. But seriously, the testing and preparation hours are nothing unreasonable at all. 

The city of Yantai in pretty small and still in development. It seems like it will be a much more exciting place to live in the next couple of years.

All in all, I'm happy with this job, and I trust my employer. I encourage future job seekers to make their decision based on the interview, not on these out-dated reviews. 

p.s. I was not asked to write this. I am doing it to set the record straight. And if  you're wondering, I have Bachelors degree and a TEFL certification, with previous teaching experience. 

The pros
Supportive staff and boss.
Good kids.
Good living situation.
Close to the beach.
The cons
Small city with very little night life.
Show more
4 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Adding Your institution is Easy as 1-2-3

Simply add your institution, the form only takes a few minutes.

Register yourself on the website confirm that you are a human. Wait for confirmation via email.

Once you login to the website you can then review your chosen institution.

Recently Added

New Gen Edu Initiative (NGE) is a recruiter located in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. Address: One Lake Plaza Office no.
Kidz International Pre-School (KIPS) is a private school located in Al Gharrafah, Qatar. Address: Building 72, corner Nasser Street 827,...
Brighton College Dubai is an international school located in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. Address: Al Barsha 2 South, Dubai, United...
The Asian International School is an international school located in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. Address: 177 Bis 2 Cao...
Dehong Xi’an International Chinese School ( Dehong Education) is a private school located in Xi’an, China. Address: Qu Jiang New...
The English School is a private school located in Salmiya, Kuwait. Address: Mousaed Al-Azmi Street, Block 12, Salmiya, Kuwait. Website: The...
Wellington College International Bangkok (WCIB) is an international school located in Bangkok, Thailand. Address: 18 Krungthep Kreetha Road, Saphan Sung...

Connect With Us Today

We believe it’s important to stay closely connected with the great individuals and organizations in the ESL/EFL industry, and what better way than through social media? We’re constantly posting updates online and participating in the buzz.

Please consider connecting with us on the following social media websites to stay up-to-date and connected!

 

Select a Country

Have you added your Institution!

Add your institution for review!

Thank for using ESLwatch, just one more thing before you go. Have you added your institution for review?

Does not matter if it is a school, college, university, recruiter, company, individual or online website that you have had dealings with in the past or present. The review form only takes a few minutes and you do not have to review the institution yourself.

 

Add Your Institution for Review

x