China

Search ESLwatch

Log in Register

Log in

Blacklisted: Review of Fei Fan English School, Fushun, Liaoning, ChinaHello, My name is Robert Bett. 

I was a foreign teacher at Fei Fan English School in Fushun, China, from November 2011 to October 2012 and the following is a summary of my experience working for this company and living in Fushun:  

Pros:

  • Receiving a legitimate working visa and residency permit.
  • People in Fushun are generally friendly and most shops/taxi drivers/etc will give you a fair price.

Cons:

  • Your passport will be taken by the management of the school in the process of obtaining your residency permit.  This should be a short procedure but the school may keep your passport for any length of time they deem fit. One teacher had his passport back after roughly two weeks, I had mine back after roughly one month, and another teacher didn’t get his back until after about six weeks.
  • The quality of the apartments provided to teachers varies wildly.  Some that I saw were very clean with provided equipment (fridge, washing machine, cooking utensils, etc) in good working order.  My apartment was filthy when I moved in and, over the course of the eleven months that I lived there, one of the lights broke (after about seven months), the washing machine broke (after about nine months), and the refrigerator broke (after about ten months).  The TV never worked properly.  None of these items were fixed by the time I left despite my alerting the school to these problems several times.
  • There is no 5,000 RMB “salary” as stated in the contract.  This “salary” is based on ninety hours of work per calendar month.  However, classes in the public schools (which will constitute the vast majority of the work) only last forty minutes and you will be paid by the minute.  I.e. In a typical day, starting work at 8AM (leaving for work at 7AM) and finishing at 3-4PM with six forty minute classes, you will be paid for four hours of work.  In addition, if you do not work ninety hours (as the management of the school understands it), your pay will be worked out at a rate of 5,000 (RMB) divided by 90 (hours) multiplied by the hours on your time sheet.  Classes at Fei Fan English School (usually at the weekend but sometimes in the evenings and winter/summer holidays) are usually forty-five minutes to one hour but the availability of these classes largely depends on how many white, western foreign teachers are available.  So you will effectively be paid at a rate of 55.5 RMB per hour and, if there are several white, western foreign teachers available, it is unlikely that you will make the ninety hours (with a typical day only comprising four hours of paid work) required to be paid the 5,000 RMB “salary”. 
  • While the online ads for Fei Fan claim that there are “NO OFFICE HOURS” this is not entirely true.  It is true that you can come and go as you please between classes but, ultimately, this is just a way for the school to avoid paying you for the down time between classes.  For example, If you have classes from 8AM to 3PM at a public school in the middle of nowhere (as I did), then you will have to sit around the school waiting for your next class while also only being paid for four hours of work.  You will also be expected to work split-shifts (E.g. I had two classes at Fei Fan on alternating Saturdays and Sundays.  On the Saturday, I would have one class at 11:15-12:00 and another at 3:00-3:45 (leaving three hours of time to kill) and, on the Sunday, I would have one class at 8:00-8:45 and another at 3:00-3:45 (leaving over six hours to kill).  The branch of Fei Fan where I usually worked at weekends was a thirty-forty minute bus ride (or twenty-thirty minutes in the car) from my apartment.  This means that, while my time is technically my own, I have very little to do and the entire day is largely wasted.  In addition, teaching only two classes, I would only be paid for ninety minutes of work.
  • Although you will only be considered to be working for roughly twenty hours a week, you will probably be working six days a week and will also be expected to give up your one day off, usually at very short notice, to cover for another teacher or to work at another school with no explanation as to why.  This fact, combined with several other factors that I will discuss later, means that during the public school term you will have very little free time.  All of the foreign teachers at Fei Fan are on different timetables, due to the fact that they all work at different public schools during the week, and therefore have different days off.  This further dampens any prospect of socialising.
  • Fei Fan’s online adverts also often claim that you will receive some form of continued training.  This is simply not true.  The expectations of the school are so low that, frankly, as long as you turn up to the public school on time and no one complains about you, the management of Fei Fan couldn’t care less about what you do in the classroom.  The only thing that they care about is collecting their money.  A fee which (from the public schools alone) will likely be roughly five or six times your pay (I.e. even if you are paid 5,000RMB, you will still be paid less than twenty percent of the fee that goes from the public school to the owner of Fei Fan English School).  It must also be said that the teaching resources at Fei Fan English School are very scant.  Most teachers are provided with a book (of which there are several from many different publishers/series’ of books) and nothing else.  If you’re lucky you might be able to get some flashcards from the school but these are also disorganised and few in number.
  • Socialising is difficult enough in Fushun given that there are only a handful of foreigners living there and the general level of spoken English is very poor (even amongst students who have studied English their entire lives).  It is made more difficult still by the fact that the culture of gossip and lying amongst the staff of Fei Fan English School is exacerbated by the “Foreign Teacher Manager”.  This man will say anything to anyone to attempt to get his way.  He is a compulsive liar and a coward who will say or do anything to avoid direct conflict and to create divisions amongst the foreign teachers; both between the foreign teachers themselves and between the foreign teachers and the Chinese staff (including the owner of the school).  He is also a jealous man with very little emotional maturity and he will attempt to destroy potential friendships if he sees it as any kind of threat.  At one point, I received a text message claiming that it was now against the terms of the contract (which are prone to constant change) for teachers to socialise with other teachers or Chinese teachers/teaching assistants outside of official school functions (of which there are a handful in the whole year).  In addition, his level of formal education, teaching experience, and the general level of his spoken and written English is very poor for a native speaker which makes his constant meddling in work matters almost as frustrating as his constant interference in the social lives of other teachers.
  • Although the terms of the contract promise up to 8,000 RMB “airfare reimbursement”, the management of the school will not be forthcoming with this money.  As the end of my contract was drawing near, they started to refer to it as a “bonus” (as opposed to “airfare reimbursement”) and, when I confronted the school’s owner about this money, it became clear that I was never going to receive the money promised in the contract.  After getting clear answers to questions about what to do at the end of the contract (E.g. how I would receive any remaining pay, what date would be most convenient for my departure, etc) I asked about the airfare and was told that my “behaviour” (I never missed a class, was never late for a class, never turned down a new class and covered for other teachers on several occasions) would have to be reviewed and that she had “not thought about this problem yet” (with only a few weeks left on my contract).  In addition, she could not give me any details about how I would receive this money, when I would receive this money, what receipts/tickets the school would need to see to prove my expenses, etc.  It became clear that I was never going to receive this money and so I withdrew my services and returned to the UK with only one month left on my contract.
  • Fushun itself is a fairly small industrial city and, as such, there are hardly any foreigners, virtually no nightlife (unless you love KTV), and (unless you are fluent in Chinese or befriend a Chinese person with a high level of English (very unlikely in Fushun)) there is very little to do.  The few bars that do exist in Fushun are extremely overpriced and are largely aimed at wealthy Chinese businessmen looking to show off to their friends/mistresses after being kicked out of the KTV’s.  I would not recommend living in Fushun to anyone in their twenties.  I am in my early twenties and, although I am generally fairly happy in my own company, I was often very, very bored and miserable living in Fushun.  It is also a very dirty city and the air quality ranges from bad to awful.  I travelled to Beijing, Hangzhou, Shanghai, Qingdao, and Dalian while I was in China and, although I only spent a short time in each of these cities, the air quality in Fushun was easily the worst.  It is particularly bad in the winter when people start burning vast quantities of coal to keep warm.  Fushun is also, even for China, a very noisy city.  People will set off fireworks any day and at any time and drivers in Fushun couldn’t survive without their car horns.  Fushun drivers are also (while generally driving fairly slowly) extremely reckless drivers and crossing a busy road can be a daunting experience.

It must be said that these opinions are only a reflection of my experience working at this school and living in this city although I’m sure that several of my colleagues would agree with many of the points raised if asked (while others would simply lie to your face). 

It should also be said that all points raised in this post are ones that I consider to be above and beyond the usual challenges faced when living in China as an EFL teacher (the lack of home comforts, language/culture barrier, poor management/scheduling, the vast and continued deprofessionalisation of EFL teachers in China, etc). 

I hope that this is of some use to anyone looking to learn about Fei Fan English School in Fushun, Liaoning, China; especially to those of you thinking about accepting a position there. 

If anyone has any questions don’t hesitate to e-mail me at robert.bett.06@gmail.com.

Cheers,   Robert Bett  

Comments  

+9 # RE: Review of Fei Fan English School, Fushun, Liaoning, ChinaSteve Sayers 2012-11-10 02:00
No one said that Mr Bett was not educated. What is being said is that he was informed about the contract in detail. The things that he has mentioned about the contract were known to him before he even signed it. As for his comments about telling the owner or manager of the school about his so called problems. Well, let's just say that he never did even when asked if he had any problems. He was even asked several times if there were any problems with his apartment, which he would always answer "No". He also fails to mention that his days off (normally 2 days off every other week and 3 days off the other week) were never taken from him. He was asked up to 2 weeks before a new class was started if he wanted to teach the class. He would always refuse saying "I prefer my free time". As for people lying to other peoples faces, he should look into the mirror. If he had all of these issues and never told anyone about them, even when asked, and his answering always being "no" then who is the liar? He also fails to mention that he was fresh out of his university studies and had no experience in teaching. So for him to make comments about another teacher's methods or skills is beyond his area of expertise. His degree by the way is in history, not education. And he also fails to mention that he is from Scotland and that most if not all of the native English teachers had a hard time understanding what he was saying at times. So, if you want to come and ask the staff at the school while you are in Fushun. Then by all means come and ask them. You will find out that most of what Mr. Bett has said in his post is either exaggerated or simply untrue (unless you talk to his one friend here who just arrived and never read his contract fully before signing it). The school and management can not be held responsible for what a teacher assumes or for problems that they do not inform the school about. If he had told anyone at the school other than his friend about any problems, then they would have been taken care of in a timely manner.
-12 # RE: Review of Fei Fan English School, Fushun, Liaoning, Chinarobbett500 2012-11-16 03:13
With all respect Steve (I.e. none as you are essentially a recruiter and therefore have a MASSIVE bias). I don't completely understand your post as I told you, Kelly, and Serena about my apartment on several occasions and I was frequently asked to cover for other teachers on my days off (at least four times (five if you include the times that I refused). Regarding my specific degree/major, that has no bearing on my qualification as an ESL teacher (as with any ESL position; especially in China and ESPECIALLY at Fei Fan). When it comes to my nationality, I dinnae spik like this aw the time, ken fit like? Noo, (Edited profanity by ESL Admin email request Steve Sayers 16 November 2012 10:15) I'm jis sayin thit yiv naw rilly met muckle folk fae Scotland hav ee? I choose to write like this, and speak like this, when applying for, and working in, jobs (especially ESL teaching jobs) because I know that, in general, people find it easier to understand contemporary English than broad Scots. You are a liar and a fool.

Robert
-11 # Slaveryasd 2012-12-05 02:03
What a terrible low paying contract with lots of nasty clauses inserted so the owner makes as much profit as possible. Modern day slavery comes to mind. This outfit are constantly advertising for teachers on eslteachersboar d.com and now we know why.
-12 # RE: SlaveryCanadianJoe 2013-07-25 16:04
I agree with Robert. I also worked for FeiFan, and things were so often broken in the apartment and never fixed correctly.. leaking water, running toilets, all which you end up paying the water bill for out of your extremely low salary. Steve had no prior experience teaching, and is poorly qualified to teach, let alone recruit. But he thinks he is a great teacher. Steve, you are clueless.It is amazing that Steve comments on someone's experience when he knows how crappy a teacher he is, and came to the the school clueless.ZERO experience. All of Robbett500 comments are correct and Steve knows it... He is the schools recruiter. He gets a bonus if he can get a teacher to come.And pat himself on his back. more air in his head, to fill up where his brains should be.
+10 # RE: SlaveryFlorida dude 2013-07-26 01:25
I do not agree with you CanadianJoe. I also worked for FeiFan during the same time as Robert and Steve. I also had problems with my apartment that were repaired after I informed both Steve and Mrs. Wang. And at no time did Steve every say that he was the best teacher at the school. In fact, he said that he may be just an OK teacher, but he was still trying to improve his teaching skills. And who are you to make comments about someone's abilities? The only Canadian teacher that the school had was an elderly person who did not have any type of university degree. And that teacher was at the school for three years. If there were so many problems like Robert has mentioned, then why did that teacher stay for so long? I have talked with Steve before about why he tries to get new teachers to come to FeiFan. And he has said, because the kids deserved the chance to learn English from native speakers. He told me that he does not get anything extra for finding new teachers. And he showed me the proof to that. Where is your proof CanadianJoe? How can you comment on Steve's experience or anyone elses for that matter? And if you are the Canadian that was at the school when I was there, then you have a lot of nerve making comments about anyone. You always talked like you knew about everything, a self proclaimed know-it-all.
+9 # A response to this...JC 2013-10-27 21:24
■Your passport will be taken by the management of the school in the process of obtaining your residency permit. That is normal This should be a short procedure but the school may keep your passport for any length of time they deem fit. One teacher had his passport back after roughly two weeks,Two weeks? That is not bad. I had mine back after roughly one month, and another teacher didn’t get his back until after about six weeks. Well, perhaps someone should have manned up and demanded it back..it is government property.
■The quality of the apartments provided to teachers varies wildly. Some that I saw were very clean with provided equipment (fridge, washing machine, cooking utensils, etc) in good working order. My apartment was filthy when I moved in and, over the course of the eleven months that I lived there, one of the lights broke (after about seven months), the washing machine broke (after about nine months), and the refrigerator broke (after about ten months). So, would you say that nothing in your living quarters back home did not break over time? The TV never worked properly. Buy a new one, then. None of these items were fixed by the time I left despite my alerting the school to these problems several times.
■There is no 5,000 RMB “salary” as stated in the contract. This “salary” is based on ninety hours of work per calendar month. However, classes in the public schools (which will constitute the vast majority of the work) only last forty minutes and you will be paid by the minute. I.e. In a typical day, starting work at 8AM (leaving for work at 7AM)Getting up early to start a work day?! You don't say!!! and finishing at 3-4PM with six forty minute classes, you will be paid for four hours of work. Please...that is cake schedule. In addition, if you do not work ninety hours (as the management of the school understands it), your pay will be worked out at a rate of 5,000 (RMB) divided by 90 (hours) multiplied by the hours on your time sheet. Well, do you CHOOSE not to work 90 hours? Situations can arrise when you may not have those hours but, that 5000 RMB base is a safety net...too easy. Classes at Fei Fan English School (usually at the weekend but sometimes in the evenings and winter/summer holidays) are usually forty-five minutes to one hour but the availability of these classes largely depends on how many white, western foreign teachers are available. Well, if you want to make money, make yourself available... So you will effectively be paid at a rate of 55.5 RMB per hour and, if there are several white, western foreign teachers available,You have a fixation on ethnicity...the re is no need to personalize the matter. it is unlikely that you will make the ninety hours (with a typical day only comprising four hours of paid work) required to be paid the 5,000 RMB “salary”. So, schools don't want to send those who do a good job in their line of work the first options?
■While the online ads for Fei Fan claim that there are “NO OFFICE HOURS” this is not entirely true.So, do you NOT plan your teaching lessons? Any good instructor needs some time to prepare. It is true that you can come and go as you please between classes but, ultimately, this is just a way for the school to avoid paying you for the down time between classes. If you are not actually working, why should they pay you? For example, If you have classes from 8AM to 3PM at a public school in the middle of nowhere (as I did),roll of the dice, man. then you will have to sit around the school waiting for your next class while also only being paid for four hours of work.Then use that time plan some highspeed lessons.The day is done at 3 p.m., man! You will also be expected to work split-shifts (E.g. I had two classes at Fei Fan on alternating Saturdays and Sundays. On the Saturday, I would have one class at 11:15-12:00 and another at 3:00-3:45 (leaving three hours of time to kill) and, on the Sunday,did anyone force to stay at the school during this down time? If not, there is enough resonable space in time to ...PLAN GOOD LESSONS, go shopping, take a nap, go to the gym... I would have one class at 8:00-8:45 and another at 3:00-3:45 (leaving over six hours to kill). The branch of Fei Fan where I usually worked at weekends was a thirty-forty minute bus ride (or twenty-thirty minutes in the car) from my apartment. Lord...you never had to commute before? This means that, while my time is technically my own, I have very little to do and the entire day is largely wasted. In addition, teaching only two classes, I would only be paid for ninety minutes of work.(insert rolling eyes emocon, here)
■Although you will only be considered to be working for roughly twenty hours a week, you will probably be working six days a week and will also be expected to give up your one day off, usually at very short notice, to cover for another teacher or to work at another school with no explanation as to why.While having time off is important, stepping up and being a team player can pay dividends in the future. Though, I would not do this EVERYTIME it was asked but...not only is it a bit more money in your pocket, you make yourself look good for the boss. This fact, combined with several other factors that I will discuss later, means that during the public school term you will have very little free time. All of the foreign teachers at Fei Fan are on different timetables,Since you said that, perhaps it was simply YOUR timetable? due to the fact that they all work at different public schools during the week, and therefore have different days off. So? This further dampens any prospect of socialising.GASP...now you are cherry picking.
■Fei Fan’s online adverts also often claim that you will receive some form of continued training. This is simply not true. Is that EVER true for English training centers? Sure, some do but...the majority really don't. Besides, what kind of training are you referring to since you don't like to spend any office hours planning your own lessons? The expectations of the school are so low that,Well, that makes it easier on you, doesn't it? frankly, as long as you turn up to the public school on time and no one complains about you, the management of Fei Fan couldn’t care less about what you do in the classroom. Under promise and over deliver!!!!! The only thing that they care about is collecting their money.That is because they own a business...and after all, IT IS ONLY ENGLISH. A fee which (from the public schools alone) will likely be roughly five or six times your pay (I.e. even if you are paid 5,000RMB, you will still be paid less than twenty percent of the fee that goes from the public school to the owner of Fei Fan English School). Well, the goal of owning a business is to make money off labor. It must also be said that the teaching resources at Fei Fan English School are very scant.Well, sometimes things like that take time. What did you offer to help build those resources? Most teachers are provided with a book (of which there are several from many different publishers/seri es’ of books) and nothing else. A book is guide...not the end all be all in the matter. Again, did you contibute anything? If you’re lucky you might be able to get some flashcards from the school but these are also disorganised and few in number.Make some! Contribute and pass on your knowledge so others following you will have an easier time.
■Socialising is difficult enough in Fushun How is that the fault of the school? given that there are only a handful of foreigners living there and the general level of spoken English is very poor (even amongst students who have studied English their entire lives). Well, I don't recall too many people here in the U.S. have any Chinese ability. It is made more difficult still by the fact that the culture of gossip and lying amongst the staff of Fei Fan English School is exacerbated by the “Foreign Teacher Manager”. And how is this different from any other ogranization? This man will say anything to anyone to attempt to get his way. He is a compulsive liar and a coward who will say or do anything to avoid direct conflict and to create divisions amongst the foreign teachers; both between the foreign teachers themselves and between the foreign teachers and the Chinese staff (including the owner of the school). He is also a jealous man with very little emotional maturity and he will attempt to destroy potential friendships if he sees it as any kind of threat.Well, did you man up and talk to this guy about the issue? At one point, I received a text message claiming that it was now against the terms of the contract (which are prone to constant change) for teachers to socialise with other teachers or Chinese teachers/teachi ng assistants outside of official school functions (of which there are a handful in the whole year).Well, if you are complainig about gossip, perhaps that was the solution. Find other folks to hang out with. In addition, his level of formal education, teaching experience, and the general level of his spoken and written English is very poor for a native speaker which makes his constant meddling in work matters almost as frustrating as his constant interference in the social lives of other teachers.Now you are going on personal attacks, envoking emotion in the debate.
■Although the terms of the contract promise up to 8,000 RMB “airfare reimbursement”, the management of the school will not be forthcoming with this money. Key words.."up to"... As the end of my contract was drawing near, they started to refer to it as a “bonus” (as opposed to “airfare reimbursement”) and, when I confronted the school’s owner about this money, it became clear that I was never going to receive the money promised in the contract.Well, if it were deemed a bonus, you would receive it either way, correct? After getting clear answers to questions about what to do at the end of the contract (E.g. how I would receive any remaining pay, what date would be most convenient for my departure, etc) I asked about the airfare and was told that my “behaviour” (I never missed a class, was never late for a class, never turned down a new class and covered for other teachers on several occasions) would have to be reviewed and that she had “not thought about this problem yet” (with only a few weeks left on my contract). OK..good point. In addition, she could not give me any details about how I would receive this money, when I would receive this money, what receipts/ticket s the school would need to see to prove my expenses, etc. It became clear that I was never going to receive this money and so I withdrew my services and returned to the UK with only one month left on my contract.I can understand the frustration.
■Fushun itself is a fairly small industrial city and, as such, there are hardly any foreigners, virtually no nightlife (unless you love KTV), and (unless you are fluent in Chinese or befriend a Chinese person with a high level of English (very unlikely in Fushun)) there is very little to do.How is that the problem or fault of the school? Did you research the city before you arrived? You have to learn how to make your own party man. The few bars Oh..that's what it comes down to, eh? The drinking scene.that do exist in Fushun are extremely overpriced and are largely aimed at wealthy Chinese businessmen looking to show off to their friends/mistres ses after being kicked out of the KTV’s.You sound rather butthurt about that one...stick to the beer or buy your own. OR..quite drinking altogether. I would not recommend living in Fushun to anyone in their twenties.Different strokes for different folks, man. I am in my early twenties and, although I am generally fairly happy in my own company, I was often very, very bored and miserable living in Fushun.C'mon man, I've been there. It is not as if you are some desert, in the middle of nowhere. There is always Shenyang down the road. It is also a very dirty city and the air quality ranges from bad to awful.How is that the fault of the school? I travelled to Beijing, Hangzhou, Shanghai, Qingdao, and Dalian while I was in China and, although I only spent a short time in each of these cities, the air quality in Fushun was easily the worst.Well, perhaps you should have taught there instead? It is particularly bad in the winter when people start burning vast quantities of coal to keep warm.Well..how do you think they did it in the past? Fushun is also, even for China, a very noisy city. Most cities are...especiall y in Asia. Again, how is this the fault of the school? People will set off fireworks any day and at any time and drivers in Fushun couldn’t survive without their car horns. Fushun drivers are also (while generally driving fairly slowly) extremely reckless drivers and crossing a busy road can be a daunting experience.And this does not exist anywhere else in the world?

It must be said that these opinions are only a reflection of my experience working at this school and living in this city although I’m sure that several of my colleagues would agree with many of the points raised if asked (while others would simply lie to your face).And, none of use lie to save face?

It should also be said that all points raised in this post are ones that I consider to be above and beyond the usual challenges faced when living in China as an EFL teacher (the lack of home comforts, language/cultur e barrier, poor management/sche duling, the vast and continued deprofessionali sation of EFL teachers in China, etc). You were not at home...adapt and dive on.

I hope that this is of some use to anyone looking to learn about Fei Fan English School in Fushun, Liaoning, China; especially to those of you thinking about accepting a position there.

This was of no use. While can empathize with a small portion of your post (being that, I have also been in a situation abroad that in which, I was very unhappy and everything else seemd to compound the matter. But over time, I realized that much of those aspects were self induced). However, having been to Fushun and have met the owner of FeiFan, I can confidently say, that despite some oddities, it would have been nice place to work. Nobody was on your ass, you can plan your lessons accordingly, you had a reasonable schedule and you were able to work with children whose parents were part of the working class (best students to have, in my opinion). While I had to leave after a short time (nothing to do with the school...it had more in common with the persona of your post. I was burnt out, frustrated and could not see what was before me) I would probably consider applying with them again (if they would have me, considering how I left). Too easy...a safety net salary and the opportunity to work more and get paid for it. Granted, this is only from my perspective and I did not walk in your shoes...and that is the bottom line. However, I hope you realize that, over time (as I have), we are there to make money as well. We are guests and we should learn to act accordingly. Does that mean allowing an employer to constantly walk on us? No. But it does mean NOT blaming the school for things that our out of its control (weather, city life, etc) and to just try and enjoy our time...and learn to be a team player because it WILL pay dividends (but it does not mean selling out for co-workers)
+6 # RE: Review of Fei Fan English School, Fushun, Liaoning, ChinaAmy Lambright 2013-11-22 01:51
So I am seeing two sides to this post. I am at this moment very interested in working for this school. However, I now have concerns. The apartment, least of my problems. I am from the states and we have people that we like to call "slum lords" they don't fix anything. So with that being said, I can get over that. I know that teaching in other countries is way different than teaching in the states. I work from 8:00-4:30 and at times I have to work off the clock to get my lessons done because I can only work 40 hours a week. The only thing that I am concerned about is not getting paid properly or getting the airfare reimbursement back. Since I am used to work 40 hours a week, I'm sure I'd have no trouble work the 90 hours for the month. I just wonder is there away to make extra money. 5,000 RMB is only about $800 US dollars, since I still have to send back $500 of that a month to the US,it would be very hard for me to live and be able to travel some. Nothing about this review scares me more than the information about the money and airfare but I have to say that I am still interested in this school and will be waiting for Steve's email.
-5 # RE: Review of Fei Fan English School, Fushun, Liaoning, ChinaDS 2013-11-22 20:08
Amy,

I would look elsewhere. There are too many flaws, too much vagueness and the salary is peanuts for the work you do. You would be teaching about 30-35 classes a week...for only 5000 RMB. The market rate is at least 7000 RMB for 20 CLASSES a week. Don't subject yourself to this...some employers bank on that.

you can do better than what they offer.
+4 # RE: Review of Fei Fan English School, Fushun, Liaoning, ChinaFlorida Dude 2013-11-25 10:46
DS,

You should tell people the truth about where these 7000 RMB jobs are. I have been in China for a few years and looked at schools like those you mention for 7000 RMB. And most of those jobs are in cities that would cost you almost the amout of your salary to live in comfortably. And, when I worked for Fei Fan, we did not work 30-35 classes a week for 5000 RMB. For that number of classes you would be making close to 7000 RMB. That plus the fact that living expenses in the city only cost me about 2000 RMB a month eating at McD's and KFC everyday. I actually have thought about going back to the school and teaching there.
-6 # RE: Review of Fei Fan English School, Fushun, Liaoning, ChinaDS 2013-11-25 18:57
Dude,

I did tell the truth. I recommend taking you head out of your 4th point of contact.

In addition, only someone who does not know any better (or simply does not care) would take that peanut salary. Further more, you will teach MANY classes because it takes 2 classes to equate to one teaching hour.

You are wrong regarding the salary comparission. Sure, if you teach in Beijing or Shanghai for 7000 RMB, you may struggle a bit. But, only knobs allow themselvs to be taken advantage of.

Go back to Fei Fen, dude. Nobody cares about what YOU want or what YOUR concerns are. Amy is the one in question...not you.

Oh..speaking of truth, you may want to acknowledge the fact that she would be farmed out to public schools, some waaaay off the grid. She will ultimately have to spend HER time commutting, waiting around, etc (and again, be paid peanuts).

Take your ate up propoganda and go fill someone else's ear...dude.
+5 # RE: Review of Fei Fan English School, Fushun, Liaoning, ChinaAmy Lambright 2013-11-26 03:02
SO is there a site or anything where I can talk to teachers that are in China. I have already talked to some other schools and they also pay the 5000 rmb since I don't have a 4-year degree. As for the farming me out, this sounds to me like what we call subs here in the states, and you could go to many school but you picked which ones you took. I still don't have my TEFL and I am wanting to come as early as April if I could, that is if I can find a job and get this TEFL training done in time. Any and all advice would be great.
-5 # RE: Review of Fei Fan English School, Fushun, Liaoning, ChinaDS 2013-11-26 17:57
Ohhhh...well, NOW we are getting somewhere. LEGALLY, you need the 4 year degree to get a visa. I would NOT advise you to go there without the legal documents because if you don't, and something goes wrong (which there is a good chance it will....Chinese folks are not known for their trustworthiness ), yo will have NO legal options.

Stay home. You obviously have NO idea what you are doing.
5.0/5 from 1 ratings.
  • Experience
  • Professionalism
  • Work location
  • Living situation
  • Pay & benefits
  • Support & facilities
  • Health & safety
Summary rating
5 years ago.
Show more
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Adding Your institution is Easy as 1-2-3

Simply add your institution, the form only takes a few minutes.

Register yourself on the website confirm that you are a human. Wait for confirmation via email.

Once you login to the website you can then review your chosen institution.

Recently Added

Etonkids International Kindergarten is a private school located in Beijing, China. Address: Building 302, Unit B, FL5, IT Startup Park,...
Freesoul Kindergarten has a few private schools located in China. Address: Biyun Campus - No 1988 Yunshan Rd, Pudong district,...
ESL Suite is a recuiter located in Tianjin, China. Address: 6th Floor, Building W5C1, Binhai Economic Street No. 20 Guangchang...
Ban Pong Sanook School (โรงเรียนบ้านปงสนุก) is a private school located in Lampang, Thailand. Address: 10 Thanon Jamathawee, Lampang, 52000, Thailand. Website:...
IH Arezzo - Accademia Britannica is a private school located in Arezzo, Italy. Address: Vicolo Pietro da Cortona 10, 52100 Arezzo...
Hangzhou Future Sci Tech Wickham Kindergarten is a private school located in Hangzhou, China. Address: No.968-8, Gaojiao Road, Wuchang Street,...
Thai-Singapore International School (TSIS) is a international school located in Samutprakarn, Thailand. Address: 1000 Moo 5, Srinakarin Road, Sumrongnua Muang,...

Connect With Us Today

We believe it’s important to stay closely connected with the great individuals and organizations in the ESL/EFL industry, and what better way than through social media? We’re constantly posting updates online and participating in the buzz.

Please consider connecting with us on the following social media websites to stay up-to-date and connected!

 

Select a Country

Have you added your Institution!

Add your institution for review!

Thank for using ESLwatch, just one more thing before you go. Have you added your institution for review?

Does not matter if it is a school, college, university, recruiter, company, individual or online website that you have had dealings with in the past or present. The review form only takes a few minutes and you do not have to review the institution yourself.

 

Add Your Institution for Review

x