Online Website Reviews

Help Us Help The Community

We are committed to protecting our community from fraudulent submissions that might affect our ratings and reviews.

We review and approve every post before it appears on our site, and in the case that the community sees something suspicious we will look into the issue and take appropriate action.

 

Important read first - What is a Credible review on ESLwatch?

 

We will not post reviews containing:

3rd party experiences ie. "he said, she said" , "on behalf of", "my mate worked at this institute" scenarios or writing on behalf of a colleague.

  • Rants, venting, or obscenities
  • Personal insults or defamatory attacks (by name, title, or association)
  • Aggressive or discriminatory language
  • Trade secrets or information protected by employer contracts
  • Content not relevant or helpful to our community
  • Text in ALL CAPS or using excessively poor grammar

Please read our Community Guidelines for more information about our review criteria.

FAQ's & Legals

 

As always, ESLwatch guarantees our users anonymity. This means YOU can feel secure there will be no repercussions when you post reviews or comment on reviews.

 

 

 

Open Panel

Search ESLwatch

Log in Register

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *

Your trust is our top priority, institutes are not allowed to alter or remove their reviews.

Institute reviews can be submitted anonymously by employees, students, parents or even if you have had an interview. Read employee reviews and ratings on ESLwatch to decide if an institute is right for you.

China in Asia (online): Echinacities.com / Sinocities.com - Website - ChinaeChinacities.com and Sinocities.com is a community, English-language website that provides a range of services and information for both international visitors and China-based expats.

 

Website: Echinacities

Website: Sinocities

User ReviewsLeave your reviews
Average Review Times
  • Experience (0.8/10)
  • Professionalism (0.8/10)
  • Work location (0.8/10)
  • Living situation (0.8/10)
  • Pay & benefits (0.8/10)
  • Support & facilities (0.8/10)
  • Health & safety (0.8/10)
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Strange email from Jenny Echinacities
  · 1 years ago.
  • 0/10
    Experience
  • 0/10
    Professionalism
  • 0/10
    Work location
  • 0/10
    Living situation
  • 0/10
    Pay & benefits
  • 0/10
    Support & facilities
  • 0/10
    Health & safety
So, today I had an email from someone calling themselves Jenny at golden ladder in China, doing some research seems that they have a few websites which I have passed to ESlwatch. What gets me is that in the email she says she got my email from echinacities, which is impossible as I have never posted my email CV or even a cover letter on that site. So how did she get my email, I have been looking for a job a few months ago in China, but I now have one in UAE and pulled down any referance that I was looking for job at least 5 weeks ago. Below is a copy of the email from Jenny.

Hello,
I got your resume from echinacities. We sincerely invite you to consider the position below:
ESL teacher in learning school in center of Shanghai or other cities with good benefits, less workload, Fresh graduates acceptable
*Responsibilities:

ESL teaching in learning center.
*Students:
3-15 years old
*Work Hours:
-- Less than 18 classes per week, total 26 hours working per week, 12:00-20:00 in the week day, need work in the weekend
--2 days off per week in the work day.
*Benefits
--RMB13,000-16,000
--Holiday:11 public holidays +5 days annual holiday.
*Location: Center of Shanghai
*Report Date: ASAP or Sep.

Requests:
1)Native English speakers teacher
2)Holding TEFL/TESOL certificate 120hours.(We will provide the certificate training if you haven’t)
3)Bachelor degree or higher
4)No teaching experience requests.

If you are available for it,pls send me your update resume, copy of degree and passport ?I am reachable on skype: zyn1943 or wechat:zyn944788553 .Pls add me and let me know when is a good time for you to have a talk.

Sincerely,
Jenny
None
Mined my email from another source.
Shenzhen, China
Ex. job Seeker
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Echinacities is unethical scam IMO
  · 2 years ago.
  • 0/10
    Experience
  • 0/10
    Professionalism
  • 0/10
    Work location
  • 0/10
    Living situation
  • 0/10
    Pay & benefits
  • 0/10
    Support & facilities
  • 0/10
    Health & safety
About two weeks ago someone had asked a question at Echinacities.com in the "Answers" sections about how to tell a good China school from a bad one. A user named "Weihai.Wendy" posted some links to https://wwwchinascambusters.com and to a photobucket site where the CFTU white-list was posted which had like over 1,000 honest licensed schools that hire foreigners on it. So I bookmarked the link because this week I wanted to research some new schools that sent me offers but the link had just vanished. So wrote an email to Echinacities about this and get no reply at all. Today I mentioned this to my friend and she told me that this happens a lot at echinacities, because they make money off of job placements and they don't want anyone finding jobs directly without them. So then I started searching on line and found this beauty https://scam.com/showthread.php?t=644914  So can anyone out there PM me or post a link here to the 2015 CFTU whitelist?  Also my friend told me that  "Wendy" got into a big argument with the moderator at ECC who kept deleting her comments every time she disagreed with two other users who kept making stuff about the "average" salaries in China and other things. After Wendy started proving her comments with links they just deleted every comment she made! Then this morning, I got a chain letter in my inbox warning me about applying for jobs through ECC and they gave me this link. https://chinascamwatch.wordpress.com and now everything makes sense to me.



Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Echinacities Is On Our Target List!
  · 2 years ago.
  • 5/10
    Experience
  • 5/10
    Professionalism
  • 5/10
    Work location
  • 5/10
    Living situation
  • 5/10
    Pay & benefits
  • 5/10
    Support & facilities
  • 5/10
    Health & safety
Coming to teach in China from an ad you saw on Echinacities, Sinocities, ESLCafe, or TheBeijinger? The be sure bring a big family size jar of Vaseline with you peng you!  If however you a are not a big fan of anal sex then I invite you to join up with us at the China Scam Baiter Club where we don't angry with the fraudsters - we get even.  They waste our time and cause us grief so it is only fair that we return the favor. If you are smart you will use the review here at ESLwatch and the below white and blacklists so you don't become a victim of the clever China cheaters. But even if you get bored and want to donate 30 minutes of your time to a good cause every day (teaching Chinese scam artists about ethics and honor the hard and painful way) we'd love to have you. Scroll down for our contact info.





In the interim educate you yourself below and trust nobody in China who won't let you see their government ID card. That is the only way to get their real name. If you have time to help us or have been swindled and want to teach your thief a humble lesson, please send all the details in confidence to C.S.B.C@hotmail.com


https://chinascamwatch.org


https://eslwatch.info/forum/china.html


https://www.chinascambusters.com


https://scam.com/showthread.php?t=617489


https://scam-detector.com/forums/forum/employment-scams/341-china-expat-foreign-teacher-job-applicants-betrayed-scammed-eslcafe-thebeijinger
Rather than cry over spilled milk, maybe get a refund if we can make their life miserable for a month or two - until they see what's it like to be on the receiving end.
The scam artist will never send you another Christmas card.
Play fair!
Wherever they are in China we can locate them with the lure of money they will never get to touch.
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Never ever upload your CV to Echinacities.com nor Sinocities.com - Super Scam!
  · 2 years ago.
  • 0/10
    Experience
  • 0/10
    Professionalism
  • 0/10
    Work location
  • 0/10
    Living situation
  • 0/10
    Pay & benefits
  • 0/10
    Support & facilities
  • 0/10
    Health & safety
My story is too complicated and long to tell here but a lot of bad shit and bad luck came to my ex after she uploaded her resume for a job she saw on Echinacities.com that never seems to get filled!  Around 20 Chinese agents started calling her all claiming she had sent them her resume when she did not.  The spam got so bad after a month that she started using a new email address. Then someone in Kuala Lumpur opened a checking account in her name that she didn't find out until her dad called and asked her why she bought a car in San Francisco?  She didn't, but someone else drove off in a Chevy Camaro after making a $5,000 down payment in her name and supposedly with her credit card.  The cops found the stripped car less than week later as the thieves probably made about $20,000 by parting out the car.  By the time she figured out what happened both of her bank accounts in the states were frozen and her credit cards were cancelled two days before her rent was due in Shanghai!  Can she prove that ECC sold her CV and passport scan? She's a teacher, not a detective, but she's absolutely sure those 20 Chinese recruiters got her resume from them because of a mistake she made on that one resume she sent in to ECC, that everyone of those recruiters asked her about. Shit, we have no clue how many of them were even real recruiters.  You guys should check this out if you don't believe me; https://chinascamwatch.wordpress.com or https://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20141001205150AAXlCQJ





Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
Do not send resumes to Echinacities or Sinocities.com
  · 2 years ago.
  • 0/10
    Experience
  • 0/10
    Professionalism
  • 0/10
    Work location
  • 0/10
    Living situation
  • 0/10
    Pay & benefits
  • 0/10
    Support & facilities
  • 0/10
    Health & safety
I used this huge web site for over a year to get local news in English here in China. I thought it was a pretty cool website until I saw some arguments go with one of the moderators named "traveler" and another fellow named "Shining Cow". It was a strange argument. But then a few weeks later I saw a job advertised there that was ideal for me. It was a 20,000 rmb salaried full time job in in a South China coastal city and even had a furnished apartment included in the deal.  So I went to apply for the job and there was no email address to reply to. So I called ECC and told them I needed an email address to apply for that job. The girl named Ellen then said something I found to be strange.

She said "After you upload you resume you get more job offers to choose from even if that one is already filled" I told her I was only interested in that Xiamen job and because she answered my call on a speaker phone, I heard a lot of people laughing in the background to my response. SHe told me she was busy and if I didn't upload my resume I had no chance of getting that job. So I decided that it would not hurt to upload my resume. But then it also asked for my photo and passport scan too! This made me very uncomfortable because it says in the terms and conditions that they might share my info wit third parties.

So i uploaded my resume and a photo of brother-in-law in sunglasses and a dark gray copy of my passport that I knew would not be legible. I qualified fully for the job but I never heard from them. Instead I got no less than 30 calls from recruiters and half of them said I was perfect for even better jobs but before an interview could be arranged they needed my taxpayer ID number (SSN) and a legible copy of my passport and they were a bit pushy about it and rushing me to do "now" or as soon as we hung up the phone.  By now all the alarm bells were going off in my head.

Then on December 26th I get this chain letter from a teacher in Michigan who took a TEFL course with me last year and below is what it said...

Dear Teacher,


Do not send out another resume to any jobs related to China until you read about the devious China job resume and identity theft scam recently identified by China Scam Patrol at https://chinascamwatch.wordpress.com If you don't spend 15 minutes now you have a 50% chance of spending $10,000 later. Your choice.  If you agree that this is a serious problem please send this email along to ten of your teacher colleagues without delay.


Sincerely,


Victim Edward P.
Guangzhou, China



Was this review helpful to you?
Login to post review

Adding Your institution is Easy as 1-2-3

Simply add your institution, the form only takes a few minutes.

Register yourself on the website confirm that you are a human. Wait for confirmation via email.

Once you login to the website you can then review your chosen institution.

Latest Review

Recently Added

Australian Centre for Education (ACE) has a few private schools located in Cambodia. Address: ACE Santhor Mok Campus - #657, Kampuchea...
Amerikan Kültür (American Culture) is a franchise with a few schools located in Turkey. Website: Amerikan Kültür (American Culture) Branches: SEYHAN...
St. Paul's American School is a private school located in Suwon, South Korea. Address: Suwon, South Korea. Website: St. Paul's American...
Redwood International Educational Center is a private school located in Yongin, South Korea. Address: Pungdeokcheondong, Suji gu 29-9, Yongin, South...
Yulha Milton House is a private school located in Gimhae, South Korea. Address: 601 Milton House Yulha Yusung Plaza2...

Connect With Us Today

We believe it’s important to stay closely connected with the great individuals and organizations in the ESL/EFL industry, and what better way than through social media? We’re constantly posting updates online and participating in the buzz.

Please consider connecting with us on the following social media websites to stay up-to-date and connected!

 

Select a Country

Have you added your Institution!

Add your institution for review!

Thank for using ESLwatch, just one more thing before you go. Have you added your institution for review?

Does not matter if it is a school, college, university, recruiter, company, individual or online website that you have had dealings with in the past or present. The review form only takes a few minutes and you do not have to review the institution yourself.

 

Add Your Institution for Review

x