Asian Online Reviews

Search ESLwatch

Log in Register

Log in

Your trust is our top priority, institutes are not allowed to alter or remove their reviews.

Institute reviews can be submitted anonymously by employees, students, parents or even if you have had an interview. Read employee reviews and ratings on ESLwatch to decide if an institute is right for you.

 

"Lead by example and inspire with your review"

Did you know that 9/10 people will search for reviews in their own research, but will not take five minutes to help others by reviewing their own institute.

China in Asia (Online): Waijiaoyi - Online - China

Waijiaoyi is an online website located in Beijing, China.

 

Address: Room 801, Paidun Mansion, Wanliu, Haidian District, Beijing, China.

Website: Waijiaoyi

 

 

 

 

 

4.8/5 from 13 ratings.
Summary rating
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
Why Waijiaoyi Is Surprisingly Great?
27 days ago.
Your review
I have been an employee at Waijiaoyi for the past year. It is a startup which has its headquarters in Haidian, Beijing. The company offers two separate online platforms. One where teachers may be employed from their home and can work online using their computer and one that requires the physical presence of the teacher in Beijing. I am occupied in the second of the two.

The post is particularly interesting because it is a blend of teaching and acting. It moves away from the traditional classroom. The teachers work in a green room and are projected onto a virtual reality background which is then broadcasted to schools across China. During the broadcast students who are online are called to interact with the foreign teacher. In turn, they are also facilitated in their learning, by the help of a second teacher who supports them with her physical presence in the classroom.

All in all, my experience from working with this company has been overwhelmingly positive. Bearing in mind that it is a startup, teacher feedback is always welcome, changes are always being made so as to facilitate foreign staff and there is an obvious development that shows a promising future. Another important point is that experienced and hardworking teachers are awarded accordingly and there is much incentive in the direction of professional development. Coming to work here was a good choice and not only was I amply compensated in a financial sense but also in the way I have developed as a teacher in view of developing educational technologies.

Show more
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
Being a VR Teacher at Waijiaoyi is an amazing job!
2 months ago.
Your review
I have been working with Waijiaoyi for a while now. They have really gone above and beyond for me. The office life is much easier when you have collegues who appreciate your talents and what you contribute to the project. The hours are not strenuous and management is reasonable and strive to assist whenever we feel tired or drained. They work to ensure we are comfortable in our positions and that we are taken care of by ensuring we have beverages and places to rest when we are not working. I really enjoy the training we receive when joining and on an ongoing basis, it helps me to broaden my skills while also ensuring we bond as a team. The work is the best part - Waijiaoyi are always moving above and beyond and reaching new milestones. They encourage us to be creative and support this by buying whatever we need to make our dream come alive in the green room. They listen to ideas and implement them quickly, always happy to provide praise and credit.
Show more
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
VR TEACHER IN CHINA
2 months ago.
Your review


I have been happily teaching at Waijiaoyi's Beijing office for 10 months now. One thing I really appreciate about the staff is their warmness and disciplined attitude towards work. Wow, I never thought that someone could be so workaholic. With this kind of atmosphere in the office, I am challenged to be at my best at all times.The support system we get are way beyond and I believe it's one reason that brings out the best in us.

The flat where I stay is cozy and perfect. It is just few blocks away from the office and the environment is clean and generally safe. The foods in China are delicious! There are tons of dishes that you'd love to try again and again.

I thought it would be so hard to adapt to a new culture that is quite the opposite in the west but it was actually not. China is a go-to country for teachers around across the globe. This is a whole new world that you would love to be into.
Show more
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
Working as a VR for Waijiaoyi
2 months ago.
Your review
I have been working with Waijiaoyi (WJY) at the Beijing office for 6 months now, and on the plane back from a trip home for holiday I was genuinely excited to be coming back to work. The teacher role at WJY is not quite like any regular teaching job, its more like you are hosting a TV show. You have potentially hundreds of students watching you at any time which makes the work extremely important. And if you are so inclined, makes you feel a bit like a star.

Overall, every day is focused on getting ready for the classes you are going to be teaching. We aren’t teaching/broadcasting for the majority of the working day and the classes are only 25 minutes long.

The focus of our lessons is to make an entertaining and engaging experience where students learn by staying fixed through games, chants, songs, and captivating storylines. In many respects, we are similar to Sesame Street or Blue’s Clues.

When not in the VR room and on camera the atmosphere in the office is light, friendly, warm, and personal. There is a massive team upstairs working on everything leading up to and surrounding the lessons that the key handful of teachers deliver. So sometimes when you make a mistake you are letting quite a few people down.

In other respects, when you need assistance with anything; your visa, ordering things off of the internet, buying a phone etc. The Chinese colleagues in the office are right there to help you with anything.
Show more
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
  • lalainetrixie 2 months ago.
    The project we are working on is relatively new and so the techniques and lessons of what to do and how to do it are not set in stone yet so sometimes we are expected to implement something new quite quickly. For that reason the work is not for someone who cannot adapt under pressure or who cannot improvise on the move. The work is also not for the faint-hearted or the shy but at the same time not for the arrogant or single-minded.

    You will need to learn from your colleagues and be willing to accept criticisms from time to time.
    But the work and product we are expected to deliver is a personal real one, not a KPI-ridden corporatized faceless repet*t*on. The lessons are structured in a way that students will develop a liking for your style of teaching and its warming to see them react positively when they see you.
  • rivazx 2 months ago.
    I have been an employee at Waijiaoyi for the past year. It is a startup which has its headquarters in Haidian, Beijing. The company offers two separate online platforms. One where teachers may be employed from their home and can work online using their computer and one that requires the physical presence of the teacher in Beijing. I am occupied in the second of the two.

    The post is particularly interesting because it is a blend of teaching and acting. It moves away from the traditional classroom. The teachers work in a green room and are projected onto a virtual reality background which is then broadcasted to schools across China. During the broadcast students who are online are called to interact with the foreign teacher. In turn, they are also facilitated in their learning, by the help of a second teacher who supports them with her physical presence in the classroom.

    All in all, my experience from working with this company has been overwhelmingly positive. Bearing in mind that it is a startup, teacher feedback is always welcome, changes are always being made so as to facilitate foreign staff and there is an obvious development that shows a promising future. Another important point is that experienced and hardworking teachers are awarded accordingly and there is much incentive in the direction of professional development. Coming to work here was a good choice and not only was I amply compensated in a financial sense but also in the way I have developed as a teacher in view of developing educational technologies.
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
I love working With Waijiaoyi!
4 months ago.
Your review
When I decided to work at Waijiaoyi, it changed my daily routine. I love what I'm doing everyday. I can take care of my family while working and earning. Aside from that, the staff are really approachable and give assistance right away when I needed help. The company pays well and they give right benefits. That's why I will never regret working in this company.
Show more
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
It's an honor working with Waijiaoyi!
5 months ago.
Your review
Being part of Waijiaoyi team is an honor. It's an opportunity I don't want to lose and give up. I work from the comfort of our home, taking care of my family while I am earning. The staff are approachable and really help me when I needed assistance. The company pays well and give the right benefits. So for those who are looking for an online job, come and join us.
Show more
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
  • shalaperez12 5 months ago.
    I'm an ESL Teacher at Waijiaoyi where I enjoy guaranteed teaching hours. Being up and working during wee hours in our country totally worth it. As for my 1 year over-all experience, I am satisfied with Waijiaoyi’s treatment to its employees. We have bonuses and the working environment is compet*t*ve yet healthy. Proven that teachers from Waijiaoyi are highly in demand and that’s what makes me feel really special.
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
I will never regret being part of Waijiaoyi team!
5 months ago.
Your review
I am happy and blessed to be part of Waijiaoyi team. You will never get bored and will never regret working in this company. Aside from the fact that you can work from the comfort of your own home, you will really enjoy working because the staff are really accommodating and give assistance right away when you needed help. The company pays well and give other benefits. For sure, you'll be smiling all day long despite of draining energy. So if you're looking for an online teaching job, then come along and join our team.
Show more
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
1 helpful voted.
"Not Going Anywhere"
5 months ago.
Your review
Waijiaoyi is a perfect place for Native and Non-native teachers all around the world. The platform is excellent and I landed a job easily.

Teaching has never been so fun. From the comfort of my own home, I can enjoy various opportunities for both personal and professional development. Not to mention their reasonable compensation and bonus packages.

Waijiaoyi offers free and regular training sessions where I get to meet expert trainers and fellow ESL teachers who are just awesome! It's like one big family where you get to get along with people so well. Not to mention those adorable and smart kids in class.

It has been a year & 6 months and I am definitely not going anywhere!




Show more
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
2 helpful voted.
Homebased Online Teacher
6 months ago.
Your review
I was pleased to learn about WAIJIAOYI as a teacher. Being part of this company gives me a lot of opportunities to teach and show my strong initiative and exceptional organizational skills combined with my ability to work well under pressure.
It allows me to play a crucial role in a fast-paced teaching environment. Here, I can robust my experience in education and apply appropriate teaching and assessment methodologies.
Be a good team player and join us now!
Show more
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
2 comment(s).
Waijiaoyi Rules!
6 months ago.
Your review
Waijiaoyi is a good company. I can really recommend it. I must say it brings the best in new and young e- educators. It gives the non-native speakers a great chance to show the innate ability to converse in English not because it is our mother tongue but we learned it through our education. That is why as teacher I don’t only teach the proper diction, pronunciation, spelling and enunciation but I also introduce the value of education. That it is not a thing to be neglected but should be given the utmost importance. Education gives us the discipline and helps us to be happy of what we have no matter how little it is.
Show more
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Adding Your institution is Easy as 1-2-3

Simply add your institution, the form only takes a few minutes.

Register yourself on the website confirm that you are a human. Wait for confirmation via email.

Once you login to the website you can then review your chosen institution.

Recently Added

Ban Pong Sanook School (โรงเรียนบ้านปงสนุก) is a private school located in Lampang, Thailand. Address: 10 Thanon Jamathawee, Lampang, 52000, Thailand. Website:...
IH Arezzo - Accademia Britannica is a private school located in Arezzo, Italy. Address: Vicolo Pietro da Cortona 10, 52100 Arezzo...
Hangzhou Future Sci Tech Wickham Kindergarten is a private school located in Hangzhou, China. Address: No.968-8, Gaojiao Road, Wuchang Street,...
Thai-Singapore International School (TSIS) is a international school located in Samutprakarn, Thailand. Address: 1000 Moo 5, Srinakarin Road, Sumrongnua Muang,...
Nareerat School Phrae is a private school located in Phrae, Thailand. Address: 1 khum Doem Alley, Tambon Nai Wiang, Phrae,...
RefeKids is an online website located in Belgrade, Serbia and Montenegro. Address: Naselje Mose 35 Serbia, Belgrade, 11000, Serbia and...
Mokpo International Christian School is an international school located in Mokpo, South Korea. Address: 982 Ogam Dong, Mokpo, Joellenam-do, 530420,...

Connect With Us Today

We believe it’s important to stay closely connected with the great individuals and organizations in the ESL/EFL industry, and what better way than through social media? We’re constantly posting updates online and participating in the buzz.

Please consider connecting with us on the following social media websites to stay up-to-date and connected!

 

Select a Country

Have you added your Institution!

Add your institution for review!

Thank for using ESLwatch, just one more thing before you go. Have you added your institution for review?

Does not matter if it is a school, college, university, recruiter, company, individual or online website that you have had dealings with in the past or present. The review form only takes a few minutes and you do not have to review the institution yourself.

 

Add Your Institution for Review

x