School Reviews

Help Us Help The Community

We are committed to protecting our community from fraudulent submissions that might affect our ratings and reviews.

We review and approve every post before it appears on our site, and in the case that the community sees something suspicious we will look into the issue and take appropriate action.

 

Important read first - What is a Credible review on ESLwatch?

 

We will not post reviews containing:

3rd party experiences ie. "he said, she said" , "on behalf of", "my mate worked at this institute" scenarios or writing on behalf of a colleague.

  • Rants, venting, or obscenities
  • Personal insults or defamatory attacks (by name, title, or association)
  • Aggressive or discriminatory language
  • Trade secrets or information protected by employer contracts
  • Content not relevant or helpful to our community
  • Text in ALL CAPS or using excessively poor grammar

Please read our Community Guidelines for more information about our review criteria.

FAQ's & Legals

 

As always, ESLwatch guarantees our users anonymity. This means YOU can feel secure there will be no repercussions when you post reviews or comment on reviews.

 

 

 

New Feature

ESLwatch NOW allows you to create a Rating without writing a review

What does this mean, you still have to register (still anonymous), find your school and you are able to rate your school from 1/5, You are then able to add your Experience by giving star ratings on:


5/10 Professionalism
5/10 Work location
5/10 Living situation
5/10 Pay & benefits
5/10 Support & facilities
5/10 Health & safety

 

ESLwatch has some more features in the pipeline so will let you know when launched.

If your school is not added to the site just add them, completely anonymous of course.

Open Panel

Search ESLwatch

Log in Register

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *

Your trust is our top priority, institutes are not allowed to alter or remove their reviews.

Institute reviews can be submitted anonymously by employees, students, parents or even if you have had an interview. Read employee reviews and ratings on ESLwatch to decide if an institute is right for you.

 

How would you rate your experience at this insitute?


Spain in Europe (School): Logo removed by email request (25/06/2017)

OELS English is a private school located in Galicia, Spain.

 

Address: Av. da Coruña, 6, 15705 Santiago de Compostela, A Coruña, Spain

Website: OELS English

4.0/5 from 33 ratings.
  • Experience
  • Professionalism
  • Work location
  • Living situation
  • Pay & benefits
  • Support & facilities
  • Health & safety
Summary rating
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
6 comment(s).
5 helpful voted.
Wow so many fake reviews
7 days ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
Ok these guys are hiring on TEFL.com and I knew that I couldnt let anyone else be subjected to the shading dealings of these people. First time teacher needed!!!! I wonder why.
The hours are practically s*a*ery. You start at 10am and don't finish till 10pm, you get a break of 3 hours in the afternoon. However you have to come to school 30 mins at 9.30am before your class starts, for a meeting every morning. Now the subject of these meetings are to go through the pre planned lessons which are to accommodate FCE, PET, IELTS AND TOFEL exams all in one!! These lessons are garbage, they do not challenge students and if they do, they are way too hard with multiple and various grammatical and structural errors throughout. Now during these 'meetings' you are not allowed to question the material or (Name removed Admin Team) gets upset and will pull you to the side and talk to you about it. Then, he will run away and put a fake complaint by students in about you. He has done this to numerous teachers, of which after reading them and discussing them, they are petty and lack information.

(Name removed Admin Team) likes to sack teachers too, there have been many teachers before and speaking to students previously they have some interesting stories about previous teachers being sacked for questioning m*t*ods and some who were sacked as the new teachers were walking through the door.

The front office staff are very helpful and will do anything you need. The atmosphere however changed into my second year, working times were altered, and the focus was squarely put on raking in money from any available resource was implemented. Opening 3 extra classrooms and basically adapting a f*c* you if you don't like it attitude is king. I was racially told in a meeting with Brandon that the business comes first on many occasions.

Further, (Name removed Admin Team) lies have become more frequent, he will literally tell you that your colleagues have complained about som*t*ing when they have not. Also he didn't like that people had to go to the doctors during work hours so he added some s*i* into some imaginary policy that he made up so that you can't go. Illegal! Also being paid on time has become frustrating your paid when they like it and this new policy has also been added to the afore mentioned one.

(Name removed Admin Team) is the king of spiel, he will convince you to come and work there offering development and progression. I saw none and when asking him about it, his response was "Yeah you can have some but we're not paying". Possibly the biggest slap in the face was when we had an American teacher, totally useless at her job, got others to take her class because she couldnt teachbthe inept lessons etc. Nothing ever was said as she was BFF's with (Name removed Admin Team). She was later asked to do a school magazine, which she could do while we got her class load, so we would work 8 hrs a day full teaching, she would have 1 he teaching the rest? sat on the internet, shopping, watching videos and going for coffee and having fun..... oh yeah and she got an extra €700 per month for the magazine on top of her teaching salary of which she did with 4 hrs teaching p/w. When one of the teachers brought it up, (Name removed Admin Team) decided to make a new policy that morning meetings was not the place for any concerns.

Overall the school was not bad in the first year, but hit the skids hard in the second. Inequality, c*a* lessons and lies are the norm in this place. Oh and of course the development aspect that hooked me was never seen, maybe only in the form of a questionnaire that was for some certification for the business. "Opportunities will be there for teachers who stay a 3rd year".

Disillusion, lying, under qualified, if your ideals of teaching are som*t*ing you champion, don't do it. If you enjoy being belittled by a person who has no qualifications or real experience before buying a business, this is the place for you.
The (Name removed Admin Team) has no problem throwing you under the bus if he gets to save his own skin. If you want harassment by email, text or maybe even some nice mental health problems this place is definitely for you.






The pros
It was ok for the first 6 months.

The cons
Its a drama pit, the director of studies is also the owner with zero experience of creating and delivering QUALITY lessons. He tired to tell staff, some with more than 10 years experience that his m*t*od was superior to anything they wanted to contribute.

The talent that the former teachers possess are far and away better than most of the places I have worked including former British council employees, PGCE, CELTA, and people with 2 masters degrees who were a pleasure to work with, however their input and ideas were dismissed by the inexperienced and drastically under qualified (Name removed Admin Team) who shoots down ideas that do not conform with his mediocre sense of language learning. More troubling is that the lessons are just cut and pasted from various sources from the internet, never quality checked and without permission. Illegal!

Made up lies in the form of emails from students so that he could confront and justify himself over this lesson plans. {I can attach proof}

Told the staff that we could not go to the doctors during work hours, which is illegal.

(Name removed Admin Team) or the DOS as he calls himself. Has no clue how to coordinate cla*s*s and levels, the cla*s*s are all mixed with various levels, which results in some complaining that their needs are not being met.
Advice to Management
Pay your staff, take criticism over the absolutely rubbish lesson plans copy and pasted from the internet with thousands of spelling and grammar errors on the INSTRUCTIONS!!!!!!. Get some qualifications that allow you to be a director of studies (Name removed Admin Team) because you are grossly unqualified to teach someone how to b*o* their nose.

It was nice to read (Name removed Admin Team) or (Name removed Admin Team) comments about the teachers 'making their own problems' in an earlier post, hell you ,must have quite a few email accounts now Brandon\ Ashley\ Jose. We all know that's b*l*s*i*!! as you made the problems....... Teachers before and after us will tell the same story. AVOID!!!
I used to have a lot of respect for them, but the way they treated staff and communicated with us was nothing short of des*i*able.
Institution Location
Santiago is nice
Relationship
Former teacher
Show more
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
  • BrandonGMorgan 6 days ago.
    Hello,

    My name is Brandon Morgan, and I am the current Director of Studies of OELS English here in Santiago de Compostela.
    I was told by an ex-member of our team about the existence of this post and its contents. Therefore, I decided to reply to this user regarding his review.

    First, I wanted to point out the fact that I am not using any fake name or hiding behind anonymous user names as I do not have anything to hide. I am deeply saddened and disappointed to see that a person who worked with us for almost two years would have such things to say and would use a website such as this one, which does not require that your real identity be used to publish so many false claims and false information for the sake of harming our company recklessly, without caring about the people who work here.

    For whoever is reading this message, please feel free to address with me any concerns that you may have regarding our institution. I will be happy to disclose any information that the law allows me to make public in order to clarify and show with evidence how this post is full of malicious intent rather than factual basis.

    To HEXAGON155, if you really had a claim against us and this is not simply an unsuccessful attempt to harm our school, you are more than welcome to use your real identity to make the same claims you have put in the previous post.

    I would like to personally apologize to the people mentioned by name in this post as there is no reason you are being openly bullied in public forum. Let the fact that the writer has dedicated himself to the defamation of our company, where he has directly insulted myself and ex-colleagues, serve as a testament to his character. And let this serve as some sort of peace to you.

    Unlike you Hexagon155, I refuse to be lowered to a level where I publicly share false information against you as you have done against us. It would not even be necessary for me to invent things or give harsh opinions regarding your quality of work/work ethic in order for people to understand my side of the story and how you were in the wrong, but those things are not things I am going to write publicly. Instead, I will use the law against the actions you have done.

    So, if you have a real claim, prove it by using your real identity, showing everyone that you are not afraid of the responsibility that your comments would entail as they are completely truthful and not defamatory. When people are stating the truth, they do not have the need to hide. But, of course, feel free to continue trashing us all over the internet as fortunately this represents no harm to us. You cannot outshine our dedication, effort and success through silly behavior.

    Again, I make myself available to anyone who would like to address any questions that anyone might have regarding the content of this post. You can reach me through the email academics @ oelsenglish . com.

    Thanks for reading.

    Best,
    Brandon Morgan
    • Hexagon155 5 days ago.
      Well (name removed by Admin) really, what did you expect?? My comments are true the fact that you've come on here guns blazing you innocence is enough for anyone to see they are comments of desperation. You've treated your staff like rubbish and tried to make your former teachers look bad because of your failings.

      You're not fit to hold a DOS position, you actively dismissed any contributions that anyone made to improve lessons, and you engaged in psychological warfare with the staff over a wide range of issues. I'm not going to reveal ident*t*es here because that's what this website is for (Name remove by Admin), anonymity. To make sure crooks like you don't get away with poor treatment and blaming others for your s*i*. Oh and the only people I mentioned here were you and (Name removed by Admin), which is fair since you still haven't paid your staff for work they completed nearly 3 months ago. If you had acted in a civil manner and admitted and found common ground with people, you wouldn't have this problem. If you hadn't made your own review and made the former teachers look bad, you wouldn't have this problem. You have, so you do. Also you think that we are so s*u*i* to know that these reviews haven't been written by you! remember (Name removed by Admin) we worked with you and know exactly what you are like. Also getting your little druggie student teacher A+hole (Unqualified too and being paid as an illegal worker I should add} to go all around Santiago talking rubbish about the teachers too was a low b*o*, so your going to get everything you deserve. No go away and learn from your experience.

    • Hexagon155 5 days ago.
      @Hexagon155 If you want this to continue Brandon I can start putting the evidence up here!!?
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
1 comment(s).
2 helpful voted.
Awesome place to be!
10 days ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
Really good place to work for. I entered this place with no experience and I actually feel like a learned so much there. Everything is very organized, good atmosphere, great conditions, food, water, tea, etc

Santiago is such a beautiful city, plenty of things to do, very vibrant and different as well.

Cla*s*s in the school are always with adults. Cla*s*s are made for the teachers every week. Lessons plans are very easy to follow, groups are very small (6 to 9). They have air conditioning (which might not appear to be such a relevant thing but in Spain many schools I've worked in didn't have air conditioning and teaching in the afternoon was pretty bad and smelly in summer).
The pros
The school, the staff, the organization, the location, the students, the cla*s*s...
The cons
Santiago is cool and different but it is not as big as other cities in Spain like Madrid, Barcelona, Seville, etc., although I really enjoyed my time there and would definitely go back
Institution Location
Avenida da Coruna
Santiago de Compostela - Spain
Relationship
I worked there for over a year
Show more
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
  • Hexagon155 7 days ago.
    Oh really over 1 year!!!! were you in the imaginary dept?
    • BrandonGMorgan 6 days ago.
      Fortunately, for us, there are many people who have collaborated and worked with us.
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
1 comment(s).
3 helpful voted.
A really good place
19 days ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I was told by a colleague about this website and I just wanted to say that I have worked in this school too, and I had absolutely no problems at all.

The school always helped us with everything we needed, paperwork, advances, etc.

Great place to work in spite of some other "opinions"... My opinion is still very positive about the school. I had a great experience while I was there and had no complaints.

Hope this helps if you are considering to work here. I don't think you would regret it at all, cheers!
The pros
The school always helped us with everything we needed, paperwork, advances, etc.
The cons
None that I can think of right now.
Advice to Management
Keep on going.
Institution Location
Santiago de Compostela
Spain
Relationship
Worked there
Show more
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
  • hayokir 10 days ago.
    Right on. I was waiting on someone to report or reply to this post. Great job. Why is the school even up on this website? I have been in some real $*i*h*l*s and this DEFINITELY is not one of them.
    • BrandonGMorgan 6 days ago.
      @Hexagon155 Just because a comment is positive, does not make it fake.
    • Hexagon155 7 days ago.
      @Hexagon155 (Name removed Admin Team) hmmm maybe (Name removed Admin Team)? the owner!!!???
    • Hexagon155 7 days ago.
      This is a fake comment
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
2 helpful voted.
1 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Show more
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
2 helpful voted.
1 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Show more
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
2 helpful voted.
1 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Show more
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
2 helpful voted.
1 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Show more
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
2 helpful voted.
1 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Show more
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
3 helpful voted.
1 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Show more
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
2 rating(s).
3 helpful voted.
1 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Show more
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Adding Your institution is Easy as 1-2-3

Simply add your institution, the form only takes a few minutes.

Register yourself on the website confirm that you are a human. Wait for confirmation via email.

Once you login to the website you can then review your chosen institution.

Recently Added

Legal English Innovation (LEI) is a private school located in Bogotá, Colombia. Address: Carrera 7 # 70A-21 Oficina 804 Bogotá,...
Full-Circle Talent is a recruiter located in Waltham, North America. Address: 465 Waverley Oaks Rd, Suite 417, Waltham, Massachusetts, 02452,...
7s English has a couple of private schools located in Bundang, South Korea. Address: 7-5, Sunae-dong, Bundang-gu, Seongnam, Kyonggi-do, 463-825, Korea,...
Mercury Education Center is a company located in Hồ Chí Minh City, Vietnam. Address: 80/3, Ba Van, Ward 14, Tan...
St. Andrews International School Bangkok is an international school located in Bangkok, Thailand. Address: Website: St. Andrews International School Bangkok...
Al Ansar International Private School is an international private school located in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates. Address: Al Shamkha,...
Tallinn European School (TES) is an european school located in Tallinn, Estonia. Address: Keevise 2, 11415 Tallinn, Estonia. Website: Tallinn European...

Connect With Us Today

We believe it’s important to stay closely connected with the great individuals and organizations in the ESL/EFL industry, and what better way than through social media? We’re constantly posting updates online and participating in the buzz.

Please consider connecting with us on the following social media websites to stay up-to-date and connected!

 

Select a Country

Have you added your Institution!

Add your institution for review!

Thank for using ESLwatch, just one more thing before you go. Have you added your institution for review?

Does not matter if it is a school, college, university, recruiter, company, individual or online website that you have had dealings with in the past or present. The review form only takes a few minutes and you do not have to review the institution yourself.

 

Add Your Institution for Review

x