Asian School Reviews

Search ESLwatch

Log in Register

Log in

Your trust is our top priority, institutes are not allowed to alter or remove their reviews.

Institute reviews can be submitted anonymously by employees, students, parents or even if you have had an interview. Read employee reviews and ratings on ESLwatch to decide if an institute is right for you.

 

"Lead by example and inspire with your review"

Did you know that 9/10 people will search for reviews in their own research, but will not take five minutes to help others by reviewing their own institute.

Korea, South in Asia (school): International English School - International School - South KoreaInternational English School is an international school located in Wonju, South Korea.

 

Address: Musil-ro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, 220-040, South Korea.

Website: International English School

 

 

 

 

Pin It
4.8/5 from 23 ratings.
  • Experience
  • Professionalism
  • Work location
  • Living situation
  • Pay & benefits
  • Support & facilities
  • Health & safety
Summary rating
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
51 helpful voted.
Got a great job using my English!
2 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I started coming to this school when I was in first grade. For 8 years I learned so many things at International English School. They covered many subjects which all American kids would have learned when they were in elementary school and middle school. I never stressed out while learning and studying and even when taking tests at International English School. And actually, I figured out recently that I have learned more at International English School than in public school.

In 9th grade, I went to a foreign language high school. When I was in high school, every foreign teacher and student assumed that I had lived in an English speaking country, since I can speak in English well and understand many common expressions and cultural references. But, I have never lived in another country. The only place I learned English was at International English School.

After I graduated from college, I came back to this school, and I felt like I had come back home. The teachers are very passionate, and the Wonjangnim is always very warm and friendly. In class, I can experience something very extraordinary. The teacher is not only teaching subjects like math, science, and literature, but he shares his experiences throughout his life. It almost feels like I am traveling all around the world while sitting in a chair. Through that, I can see the world, and broaden out my insight. The school library has so many selected movies and TV shows and also many good books too. It used to be a great privilege for me to go to school and watch great classic movies on my own.

Now I have a job in Seoul using my English. I am working in an educational content company, as a global team designer. Since I have had a great education, I also wanted to be a great help to other children, like this school was for me.
Institution Location
Musil-ro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, 220-040, South Korea.
Show more
51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
53 helpful voted.
More than just school - So much love and care
2 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I am an international student, currently a sophomore studying civil engineering. So far, my cumulative GPA is 3.5 out of 4.0 and I was awarded a large academic scholarship based on my GPA. Even though I grew up in Korea and had never lived in another country, I have successfully adjusted to an American college and also achieved some academic success, with the help of learning proper English at International English School.

I studied at this school over 10 years and they taught me how to read and write in English and since all the classes required us to use English only, I could practice and improve my speech skills. They also covered other academic fields such as science, math and social studies. I never felt stressed to learn and study all the material that was given. I really enjoyed every class, it was fun and exciting. All the teachers are so friendly and care about each student.

The Wonjangnim is generous and kind to all the students. She cares for every student like they were her own children and treats them all the same way, no matter what their background or level may be. At this school, they always want every student to succeed.

Especially, when I was struggling to figure out my future academic career, the head teacher suggested that I could study in America and helped me to find some decent universities. He also helped with my whole admission process. I sometimes had to stay up all night to write essays and prepare the required documents, and he always helped me to figure things out right by my side. I just can't thank him enough for all the sacrifice and support that he made.

I am so proud and feel blessed by the fact that I attended this wonderful school. It's more than just an institute, it is something close to a family.
Institution Location
Musil-ro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, 220-040, South Korea.
Show more
53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
54 helpful voted.
The one and only school
2 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I am from a small city called Wonju in South Korea and I had never thought that I would be studying at the US university. Studying at the US schools seemed like IMPOSSIBLE to me, because i graduated from a regular high school where they don't have any system to help students to apply to the US universities, and also US schools' tuition's way more expensive than most of the Korean universities. The latter one was why my family opposed me going to the US university. I really had hard time, because I had to study both tests to apply to Korean and US universities at the same time, didn't even have money to take tests like ACT, SAT, or TOEFL, and didn't have a proper place to study. However, when my family who should've been at my closest side was against me, this school was a shelter for me. They did everything to help me. I was able to study at the school til whenever I want to leave. Every day, I left the school at 3-4 in the morning, but the headteacher never said anything to me, instead he always backed me up. I had my own desk, so that I didn't need to bring all the books from home to the school. I often didn't eat dinner, because I thought it was a waste of time to go back home just for dinner or sometimes I just did't have enough money and the principal and the headteacher fed me. They were even willing to pay the fees for taking tests, if I don't have money. You can already see how much they care about their students. They helped me like this, not because it was me, but because I was one of the students of the International English School. Now, i'm attending a college at the U.S., with four-year scholarships which worth about $20,000/year.

They don't spend their money for themselves, but for the school and the students. The head teacher have been buying videos and books only for the students, because he knows that they really improve students' English. For almost every holiday, such as Children's Day, Christmas, New Year, etc, the principal and the head teacher buy presents for every student in the school and they even wrap them up one by one on their own. They have been doing this since when I started attending this school, which is like 14-15 years ago. Honestly, which institution would do this? Only for students? All they think about is their students. If one student misses a class, the head teacher tries to fill the gap between that student and the class, by teaching that student on the weekends. Yes, he doesn't need to, but he has been doing that, because he really wants to help students.

I was a student of this school, but also a former employee of the school. I worked at the school before I go to the US and then came back after one college year to work here again. My mom was surprised when she heard how much the school was paying me, because they were paying way more than what other schools are paying. (No offense) It was not because it was me. They have been paying the same amount to the former employees, too. They are also cash-paying teachers way more than average that they could get if they worked at other schools. They give the teachers round-trip airfare (most schools pay for one-way only), better housing (most give a studio or one room apt, but this school gives a full apartment that is good for one family to every teacher and those apts are all really close to the school. It takes like 5-10 min walk), free dinner every day, pension, health care, severance, and raises and bonuses every 6 months for teachers who stay more than one year. They also write really nice letters of recommendations for their teachers. I know all of these, because I was with them when they were doing these things. I was with them, when they were buying round-trip tickets, when they were buying dinner and even we went out sometimes when new teachers came, or when old teachers left. I know that the school is giving the whole apt to teachers, because I was the one who had a part-time job to clean the apt for the new teachers, and literally it took me days to clean lol. Everything they did and they're doing for their teachers is what they did for me exactly the same way. I don't think I can be treated this well while I'm working.

There are way more things I can write about this school, but I'm a busy college student, so I will wrap this up. This school's special. You can just see why students are going to this school for more than 10 years (like me), like the principal and the head teacher - tho they make students work reallyyyyy hard lol - and why they speak English so well. Like for me, many people asked me if I'm really Korean, who never went to the U.S. before I came to college, because (as they said...) my English is so fluent. Without this school, I would not be able to achieve things that I did. I am truly grateful for all their help and can proudly say that International English School is the reason why I am here.
Institution Location
Musil-ro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, 220-040, South Korea.
Relationship
Former student & Former employee
Show more
54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
53 helpful voted.
Life-changing school
2 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
Words cannot describe how thankful I am for this school. This is an institution that really cares about the students. The headteacher and the principal of the school always greeted me welcome and I was always looking forward to studying at the school. Attending this school was definitely the best decision of my life and this is the reason why.
I have attended other English schools in the past, but International English School was different from them. The goal of most English Schools in South Korea is helping students get high scores on their public school English tests. On the other hand, the goal of International English School is helping students to master the English language as a whole. They develop the students’ speaking, writing, listening and reading skills. Therefore, the students from International English School have no problem using English in any situation while the students from other English schools try to stuff their brains with the knowledge they will forget after they are done with high school.
Now, I am going to a college with a full-tuition scholarship in the US. I have no problem understanding the materials in lectures. My friends are surprised when I tell them I am not from the states. Many people I meet ask me where I learned my English and I proudly say International English School. I would not be where I am now without this school and I am grateful for all the guidance and support by the teachers and the principal.
Institution Location
Musil-ro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, 220-040, South Korea
Relationship
Student for 8 years
Show more
53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
50 helpful voted.
They Gave Me Confidence to Speak English
2 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
International English School has small classes so I could learn in detail. The curriculum is like in America, so I could easily learn English in the American style. That's why I have confidence to use my English. I'm an art teacher and I always recommend International English School to my students.
The cons
none
Institution Location
Musil-ro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, 220-040, South Korea.
Relationship
I was a student at International English School
Show more
50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
52 helpful voted.
The greatest school in my life
2 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
Since I was 9 to right before I went to college, I studied at International English School. While many English schools in Korea are focused on grammar and memorizing vocabulary, this school allows students to learn English more naturally, and tries to make English experience more interesting. For example, they have rooms with computers that are storing thousands of movies and TV shows, so the students can have fun while being exposed to English. In addition, in order to provide students with opportunities to make conversation and a good learning experience, there are no more than five students with similar English level in a class.

The head teacher always develops quality classroom materials, and comes up with new ideas for students to learn English and guide students in various ways. There are additional classes like writing classes and speaking classes so students can further improve their English skills. Furthermore, the head teacher of this school always tries hard to provide a good classroom environment, and I saw it for a long time while I was there.

The principal of this school is kind, loving, and always trying to guide students to the right path. In my case, when I was going through p*b*rty, the principal took care of me and helped me focus on my studies. For this reason, I have been able to get good grades in English not only in English school, but also in my Korea schools. I still keep in touch with them even after graduating. I was fortunate to learn from this English school, because it taught me great English.
Institution Location
Musil-ro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, 220-040, South Korea.
Relationship
student (2005-2015)
Show more
52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
53 helpful voted.
It was a great privilege for my kids to have been the students of International English School.
2 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I am a mother of two students of International English School in Wonju. It was a great privilege for my kids to have been the students of International English School. Both of my kids have gone to this school since 2003. They have learned how to speak and think in English. And also this school helped my kids to see the world. When my family went through hard times, the manager of this school supported us with love and care. When I couldn't afford my kids tuition, the manager helped my kids with scholarships so that my kids could continue their studies, so they could continue to learn English in this school for more than 10 years.
The pros
Passionate teachers and the caring manager.
The cons
The parking spot is sometimes crowded.
Institution Location
Musil-ro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, 220-040, South Korea.
Relationship
Parent
Show more
53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
52 helpful voted.
The best English school
2 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I attended International English School for 8 years. Unlike other schools in Korea, this school teaches students real English, not just for college entrance or school grades. The teachers always try to make sure that children are naturally exposed to English and do not feel rejected while living their daily lives or when chatting in English.

Every teacher in this school is always enthusiastic about teaching students, and I think the head teacher is the most passionate and caring teacher I know. The school facility is very pleasant and clean for students' convenience, many things have been invested in for their studies, and anyone can access them equally. I am very grateful and proud that I have received an education from good teachers in this school and that I was a student here. I have recommended this school to my friends and I can say this is the best school I know.
Institution Location
Musil-ro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, 220-040, South Korea
Relationship
former student(for 8 years)
Show more
52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
55 helpful voted.
My best school with the best teachers
2 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
If I have to describe this school or teachers there is one word I would use for them, “passion”. I always have thought that I would never know any person more passionate than the head teacher of this school. And I thought that’s why the whole school system and other teachers were all so enthusiastic to teach students to be better. As a student, who got so much care from teachers in this school, I really appreciate that I could be a student there. I remember all of my teachers who taught me during 12 years of time at International English School. For a student who wants to study, this school is a wonderful place to learn and improve. Everything is ready at this school, such as many good teachers, tons of materials so that you’ll never able to study all of them and even nice places for studying.

I had so many good teachers and I learned my English there. I didn’t have problems with English in the Korean school curriculum up to the national college entrance exam. And now, as a college student I appreciate my English. My college, KAIST, has lots of foreign students and professors and the most of lectures are in English. I can understand lectures, study and communicate with people with English freely.

I understand that the teachers or the system of this school might seem tough to students. But I think this is the expression of their passion. If you are also a passionate person who desires to study or maybe teach, I’m sure you’ll feel what I have felt there.
Institution Location
Musil-ro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, 220-040, South Korea.
Relationship
student ( 2006 - 2018 )
Show more
55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
54 helpful voted.
I recommend this school to other parents.
2 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I attended this school as a student for several years. Now I am a math teacher and a parent. My son is on the waiting list. We hope he gets in soon.

International English School takes care of its students. We all get the chance to learn in classes with songs, talking and reading. My son is young so it's important that he will have fun and learn the best English. The whole world is learning English and English is important for his future.

This school has the best teachers and they fire the bad ones. One more reason we can trust then to teach our children.
The pros
They really take care of the students and are very professional.
The cons
None.
Advice to Management
Please never stop being the best English school in Wonju.
Institution Location
Mushilro 181, Kanwondo, South Korea 26447
Relationship
Parent and former student.
Show more
54 of 56 people found the following review helpful

Adding Your institution is Easy as 1-2-3

Simply add your institution, the form only takes a few minutes.

Register yourself on the website confirm that you are a human. Wait for confirmation via email.

Once you login to the website you can then review your chosen institution.

Recently Added

New Gen Edu Initiative (NGE) is a recruiter located in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. Address: One Lake Plaza Office no.
Kidz International Pre-School (KIPS) is a private school located in Al Gharrafah, Qatar. Address: Building 72, corner Nasser Street 827,...
Brighton College Dubai is an international school located in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. Address: Al Barsha 2 South, Dubai, United...
The Asian International School is an international school located in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. Address: 177 Bis 2 Cao...
Dehong Xi’an International Chinese School ( Dehong Education) is a private school located in Xi’an, China. Address: Qu Jiang New...
The English School is a private school located in Salmiya, Kuwait. Address: Mousaed Al-Azmi Street, Block 12, Salmiya, Kuwait. Website: The...
Wellington College International Bangkok (WCIB) is an international school located in Bangkok, Thailand. Address: 18 Krungthep Kreetha Road, Saphan Sung...

Connect With Us Today

We believe it’s important to stay closely connected with the great individuals and organizations in the ESL/EFL industry, and what better way than through social media? We’re constantly posting updates online and participating in the buzz.

Please consider connecting with us on the following social media websites to stay up-to-date and connected!

 

Select a Country

Have you added your Institution!

Add your institution for review!

Thank for using ESLwatch, just one more thing before you go. Have you added your institution for review?

Does not matter if it is a school, college, university, recruiter, company, individual or online website that you have had dealings with in the past or present. The review form only takes a few minutes and you do not have to review the institution yourself.

 

Add Your Institution for Review

x