Asian School Reviews

Search ESLwatch

Log in Register

Log in

Your trust is our top priority, institutes are not allowed to alter or remove their reviews.

Institute reviews can be submitted anonymously by employees, students, parents or even if you have had an interview. Read employee reviews and ratings on ESLwatch to decide if an institute is right for you.

 

"Lead by example and inspire with your review"

Did you know that 9/10 people will search for reviews in their own research, but will not take five minutes to help others by reviewing their own institute.

Korea, South in Asia (school): International English School - International School - South KoreaInternational English School is an international school located in Wonju, South Korea.

 

Address: Musil-ro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, 220-040, South Korea.

Website: International English School

 

 

 

 

4.8/5 from 18 ratings.
  • Experience
  • Professionalism
  • Work location
  • Living situation
  • Pay & benefits
  • Support & facilities
  • Health & safety
Summary rating
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
5 helpful voted.
The only word that can describe this school is 'best'.
2 days ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I am a student who has been at this school for eight years and I still go here. This school taught me real English, not Konglish.

I live in a small country, small town, but I can boast that I learned English better than children in other bigger cities. It is due to the good teachers and the president of the school. Their involvement in my life has completely changed my life.

When I was in elementary school, I had no idea how to study. Then after I came here, I learned how to study from a great teacher who is still teaching me. He taught me the alphabet, how to count, how to read words, how to make sentences etc. When I was young, I didn't like him, but now, I like him because he is the only one who makes me study - except my family.

The Wonjangnim (who is the president of this school) is really, really kind. When the children come in, she always smiles and welcomes them first. By Confucian tradition, in Korea, usually the younger person or people greet first, but the Wonjangnim always greets them first. And when the children's parents come to pick them up after school, the Wonjangnim sends them off in the softest voice I've never heard.

I am allergic to dust, but this school is so clean that I do not get allergies when I come to study. This school has a library, listening rooms, many classrooms and thousands and thousands of videos in the watching rooms. It means this school is the perfect place to study.

I want to stay here until I go to college. The teachers, students and the president are wonderful. My memories of International English School will be precious and will be remembered forever.
Institution Location
Musilro 181, Wonju, Kangwondo, 26447, South Korea
Relationship
student
Show more
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
6 helpful voted.
My Son Sometimes Wonders
3 days ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I want to explain how excellent the School is and how nice the Wonjangnim and the head theacher are. I cannot express enough how much I thank God and my friend who introduced me to this school.

I have 4 sons and they all have gone to International English School. Two of them are still studying there. I have known the school for almost 15 years. Because my home is quite far from the school, I waited for my kids at the school, while they were studying. I watched American TV shows at the video rooms I watched every episode of Little House on the Prairie and The Waltons. (They have 20 or more terabytes of TV shows, movies and documentaries). I was there at least 3 days a week, and stayed longer than 2 hours each time I went, so I know how the School treats its own pupils and co-workers, because I witnessed all of it with my own eyes.

The Wonjangnim loves the students as if they were her own children, and treats co-workers like her family. The atmosphere is warm and the teachers are gentle, kind and ready to teach the kids. I enjoyed every second I spent there.

When my youngest son started to attend the school, he cried and refused to be in the classroom so the Wonjangnim allowed me to stay with him. I was able to see how the classes were run. I was amazed by the quality of classes, since even I was able to tell that teachers were well-trained and the classes well-organized. Not even a minute was wasted. The head teacher trained them so well. It was impressive.

One day, I heard a student talking to her friend that her school’s native English teacher thought that she was from an English speaking country. She laughed because she had never been to one. Now I can believe that really happened, because my oldest son who is a junior in a US college told me that his professors never thought that he came from outside of the country since his English was excellent. They all thought that he was born and raised in the States, until he told them that he was from South Korea.

The School is so clean that you cannot even find a speck of dust. They only have 5 students a class, because if there are more, it is harder to care for each student. Other schools, to make money, have at least 12 students a class. The head teacher NEVER puts students in the wrong level to fill up classes, especially when their ability to speak English is different (While this may seem like the right thing to do, almost every other school in Korea does this).

I remember that my oldest son stopped going to the school for 2 years, because of his middle school policy. When he started to go to the school again, he was behind his peers, so the head teacher set up an extra class just for him for 18 months. He did not accept money because that is NOT what he is after. He did it because he cares.


I always tell my kids that I have a great respect for the head teacher and Wonjangnim and I admire them as human beings for their attitude and his passion towards students. I am a Sunday school teacher, but I don’t think I can love my students like he does.

Also they accepted a boy from my church to study at the school without any kind of tuition, since the boy’s family cannot afford it. I did not even ask them to do it. I just told them about him wanting to study and his family’s economic situation. After checking his English level, the head teacher organized a private lesson for the boy to catch up with his class.

My youngest son says that he sometimes wonders that “Does the school make its students excellent or is it the other way around?” because all of the higher level students at the school go to or can go to famous schools anywhere in the world and get scholarships.” Being the mother of 4 sons who have gone to this school, I firmly believe the former is right.

I feel so blessed that I was able to send my kids to this school. I hope that God blesses the head teacher and Wonjangnim with good health so they can also teach our grandkids. May the good LORD bless them for years to come!

Institution Location
Musil-ro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, 220-040, South Kore
Show more
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
11 helpful voted.
A great opportunity
9 days ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I'm a student who goes to International English School. So, I know that International
English School is one of the best schools, where they teach real English. When l first came to International English School I didn't even know the alphabet. After learning English at International English School I have become good at English and not only English, I have learned English culture such as Literature, Movies, TV shows etc...

Wonju, where I live, is a small town and I'm really glad that there is a school like International English School where there are great teachers with passion. The Wonjangnim who always cares about you. And one thing different from other schools is International English School is very clean. Even the bathrooms are cleaner than my house (I'm not even joking). The teaching system is also fascinating. The head teacher made the teaching system himself to teach students more efficiently. I have learned so many things from the International English School apart from English also Math, Science, Social Studies etc...

International English School leads the students from the ABCs to SAT. Learning In International English School has been one of the best opportunities of my life and if get married and have children of my own in the future, I will be sure to send my children to International English School to learn English because International English School is the best school I have experienced.
Institution Location
Musilro 181, Wonju, Kangwondo, 26447, South Korea
Show more
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
11 helpful voted.
This school changed my life.
9 days ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
International English School isn't just a school to me. I have never lived outside of Wonju, so I learned all my English at International English School. Before I went there, I couldn't even write the alphabet, but because the teachers taught me English with passion, now I speak English naturally.

My goal is to be a biologist. The teachers help to motivate me, and also help me to find my talents. They don't just teach me, they give me advice that really helps me to establish my goals. After deciding what I should do in my life, I got all A's in Middle school, including English. So I'm applying to Science High School, and I feel like I'm getting closer to my goals.

When you're studying science, you can learn much more in America than in Korea. I thought a regular Korean student like me could never get into an American university. But the teachers told me how can I get scholarships and get into an American school, so I'm aiming for American universities, just like other International English school students who have gone to top American schools, and I'm planning to study at International English School till I go to a collage.

This school changed my life, and I will never forget their effort and passion even when I become an adult.
Institution Location
Musilro 181, Wonju, Kangwondo, 26447, South Korea
Relationship
student
Show more
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
14 helpful voted.
My Golden Ticket for a Great Future
10 days ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I have been going to International English School for the past 5 years now, and I can't describe the experiences I have had in one word.Before I went to this school, my life with English wasn't easy.I remember back in those days, I could't even pronounce the word oven, but as soon as I came to this school and started studying with the teachers, my English got better and better every day.The head teacher and the wonjangnim are so passionate and always care about the students.The students from our school not only learn English, but math, science and more importantly, English expressions and references as you would expect to learn at American schools. Throughout the years,students from International English School have gotten scholarships from many great Universities in the US. This seemed impossible for a student like me in Korea, but seeing the students do it before me has given me the courage to do it too. If i had to pick the best school of my life, then International English School would be the one for sure.
Institution Location
Musilro 181, Wonju, Kangwondo, 26447, South Korea
Show more
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
19 helpful voted.
Got a great job using my English!
11 days ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I started coming to this school when I was in first grade. For 8 years I learned so many things at International English School. They covered many subjects which all American kids would have learned when they were in elementary school and middle school. I never stressed out while learning and studying and even when taking tests at International English School. And actually, I figured out recently that I have learned more at International English School than in public school.

In 9th grade, I went to a foreign language high school. When I was in high school, every foreign teacher and student assumed that I had lived in an English speaking country, since I can speak in English well and understand many common expressions and cultural references. But, I have never lived in another country. The only place I learned English was at International English School.

After I graduated from college, I came back to this school, and I felt like I had come back home. The teachers are very passionate, and the Wonjangnim is always very warm and friendly. In class, I can experience something very extraordinary. The teacher is not only teaching subjects like math, science, and literature, but he shares his experiences throughout his life. It almost feels like I am traveling all around the world while sitting in a chair. Through that, I can see the world, and broaden out my insight. The school library has so many selected movies and TV shows and also many good books too. It used to be a great privilege for me to go to school and watch great classic movies on my own.

Now I have a job in Seoul using my English. I am working in an educational content company, as a global team designer. Since I have had a great education, I also wanted to be a great help to other children, like this school was for me.
Institution Location
Musil-ro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, 220-040, South Korea.
Show more
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
22 helpful voted.
More than just school - So much love and care
13 days ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I am an international student, currently a soph*m*re studying civil engineering. So far, my cumulative GPA is 3.5 out of 4.0 and I was awarded a large academic scholarship based on my GPA. Even though I grew up in Korea and had never lived in another country, I have successfully adjusted to an American college and also achieved some academic success, with the help of learning proper English at International English School.

I studied at this school over 10 years and they taught me how to read and write in English and since all the classes required us to use English only, I could practice and improve my speech skills. They also covered other academic fields such as science, math and social studies. I never felt stressed to learn and study all the material that was given. I really enjoyed every class, it was fun and exciting. All the teachers are so friendly and care about each student.

The Wonjangnim is generous and kind to all the students. She cares for every student like they were her own children and treats them all the same way, no matter what their background or level may be. At this school, they always want every student to succeed.

Especially, when I was struggling to figure out my future academic career, the head teacher suggested that I could study in America and helped me to find some decent universities. He also helped with my whole admission process. I sometimes had to stay up all night to write essays and prepare the required documents, and he always helped me to figure things out right by my side. I just can't thank him enough for all the sacrifice and support that he made.

I am so proud and feel blessed by the fact that I attended this wonderful school. It's more than just an institute, it is something close to a family.
Institution Location
Musil-ro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, 220-040, South Korea.
Show more
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
22 helpful voted.
The one and only school
15 days ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I am from a small city called Wonju in South Korea and I had never thought that I would be studying at the US university. Studying at the US schools seemed like IMPOSSIBLE to me, because i graduated from a regular high school where they don't have any system to help students to apply to the US universities, and also US schools' tuition's way more expensive than most of the Korean universities. The latter one was why my family opposed me going to the US university. I really had hard time, because I had to study both tests to apply to Korean and US universities at the same time, didn't even have money to take tests like ACT, SAT, or TOEFL, and didn't have a proper place to study. However, when my family who should've been at my closest side was against me, this school was a shelter for me. They did everything to help me. I was able to study at the school til whenever I want to leave. Every day, I left the school at 3-4 in the morning, but the headteacher never said anything to me, instead he always backed me up. I had my own desk, so that I didn't need to bring all the books from home to the school. I often didn't eat dinner, because I thought it was a waste of time to go back home just for dinner or sometimes I just did't have enough money and the principal and the headteacher fed me. They were even willing to pay the fees for taking tests, if I don't have money. You can already see how much they care about their students. They helped me like this, not because it was me, but because I was one of the students of the International English School. Now, i'm attending a college at the U.S., with four-year scholarships which worth about $20,000/year.

They don't spend their money for themselves, but for the school and the students. The head teacher have been buying videos and books only for the students, because he knows that they really improve students' English. For almost every holiday, such as Children's Day, Christmas, New Year, etc, the principal and the head teacher buy presents for every student in the school and they even wrap them up one by one on their own. They have been doing this since when I started attending this school, which is like 14-15 years ago. Honestly, which institution would do this? Only for students? All they think about is their students. If one student misses a class, the head teacher tries to fill the gap between that student and the class, by teaching that student on the weekends. Yes, he doesn't need to, but he has been doing that, because he really wants to help students.

I was a student of this school, but also a former employee of the school. I worked at the school before I go to the US and then came back after one college year to work here again. My mom was surprised when she heard how much the school was paying me, because they were paying way more than what other schools are paying. (No offense) It was not because it was me. They have been paying the same amount to the former employees, too. They are also cash-paying teachers way more than average that they could get if they worked at other schools. They give the teachers round-trip airfare (most schools pay for one-way only), better housing (most give a studio or one room apt, but this school gives a full apartment that is good for one family to every teacher and those apts are all really close to the school. It takes like 5-10 min walk), free dinner every day, pension, health care, severance, and raises and bonuses every 6 months for teachers who stay more than one year. They also write really nice letters of recommendations for their teachers. I know all of these, because I was with them when they were doing these things. I was with them, when they were buying round-trip tickets, when they were buying dinner and even we went out sometimes when new teachers came, or when old teachers left. I know that the school is giving the whole apt to teachers, because I was the one who had a part-time job to clean the apt for the new teachers, and literally it took me days to clean lol. Everything they did and they're doing for their teachers is what they did for me exactly the same way. I don't think I can be treated this well while I'm working.

There are way more things I can write about this school, but I'm a busy college student, so I will wrap this up. This school's special. You can just see why students are going to this school for more than 10 years (like me), like the principal and the head teacher - tho they make students work reallyyyyy hard lol - and why they speak English so well. Like for me, many people asked me if I'm really Korean, who never went to the U.S. before I came to college, because (as they said...) my English is so fluent. Without this school, I would not be able to achieve things that I did. I am truly grateful for all their help and can proudly say that International English School is the reason why I am here.
Institution Location
Musil-ro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, 220-040, South Korea.
Relationship
Former student & Former employee
Show more
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
22 helpful voted.
Life-changing school
15 days ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
Words cannot describe how thankful I am for this school. This is an institution that really cares about the students. The headteacher and the principal of the school always greeted me welcome and I was always looking forward to studying at the school. Attending this school was definitely the best decision of my life and this is the reason why.
I have attended other English schools in the past, but International English School was different from them. The goal of most English Schools in South Korea is helping students get high scores on their public school English tests. On the other hand, the goal of International English School is helping students to master the English language as a whole. They develop the students’ speaking, writing, listening and reading skills. Therefore, the students from International English School have no problem using English in any situation while the students from other English schools try to stuff their brains with the knowledge they will forget after they are done with high school.
Now, I am going to a college with a full-tuition scholarship in the US. I have no problem understanding the materials in lectures. My friends are surprised when I tell them I am not from the states. Many people I meet ask me where I learned my English and I proudly say International English School. I would not be where I am now without this school and I am grateful for all the guidance and support by the teachers and the principal.
Institution Location
Musil-ro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, 220-040, South Korea
Relationship
Student for 8 years
Show more
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
22 helpful voted.
They Gave Me Confidence to Speak English
17 days ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
International English School has small classes so I could learn in detail. The curriculum is like in America, so I could easily learn English in the American style. That's why I have confidence to use my English. I'm an art teacher and I always recommend International English School to my students.
The cons
none
Institution Location
Musil-ro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, 220-040, South Korea.
Relationship
I was a student at International English School
Show more
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful

Adding Your institution is Easy as 1-2-3

Simply add your institution, the form only takes a few minutes.

Register yourself on the website confirm that you are a human. Wait for confirmation via email.

Once you login to the website you can then review your chosen institution.

Recently Added

Cartagena International School (CIS) is an international school located in Bolivar, Colombia. Address: Cartagena International School, Vía Pontezuela Bayunca Km...
YùPro INTL (YuPro) is a recruiter located in California, North America. Address: 1203 E. Central Avenue #104, Redlands, California, North...
Eigox is an online website located in China. Address: China. Website: Eigox - Unknown...
HiTalk is an online website located in China. Address: China. Website: HiTalk - Unknown...
Put School is an online website located in China. Address: China. Website: Put School - Unknown...
SnapLingo is an online website located in China. Address: China. Website: SnapLingo...
Puff Education is an online website located in China. Address: China. Website: Puff Education - Unknown...

Connect With Us Today

We believe it’s important to stay closely connected with the great individuals and organizations in the ESL/EFL industry, and what better way than through social media? We’re constantly posting updates online and participating in the buzz.

Please consider connecting with us on the following social media websites to stay up-to-date and connected!

 

Select a Country

Have you added your Institution!

Add your institution for review!

Thank for using ESLwatch, just one more thing before you go. Have you added your institution for review?

Does not matter if it is a school, college, university, recruiter, company, individual or online website that you have had dealings with in the past or present. The review form only takes a few minutes and you do not have to review the institution yourself.

 

Add Your Institution for Review

x