Asian School Reviews

Search ESLwatch

Log in Register

Log in

Your trust is our top priority, institutes are not allowed to alter or remove their reviews.

Institute reviews can be submitted anonymously by employees, students, parents or even if you have had an interview. Read employee reviews and ratings on ESLwatch to decide if an institute is right for you.

 

"Lead by example and inspire with your review"

Did you know that 9/10 people will search for reviews in their own research, but will not take five minutes to help others by reviewing their own institute.

Korea, South in Asia (school): International English School - International School - South KoreaInternational English School is an international school located in Wonju, South Korea.

 

Address: Musil-ro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, 220-040, South Korea.

Website: International English School

 

 

 

 

Pin It
4.8/5 from 23 ratings.
  • Experience
  • Professionalism
  • Work location
  • Living situation
  • Pay & benefits
  • Support & facilities
  • Health & safety
Summary rating
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
14 helpful voted.
More Than Just a School for Me
1 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I first went to this school in 2007, when I was 6 years old. More than 10 years have passed since then. That little 6-year-old kid has become a high school student now and is still going to this school. I want to write something since I’m a pupil of International English School, who has spent more than half of my life with this school.

I have lots of things to say about this school and I first want to talk about the teachers. I actually appreciate them, especially the Wonjangnim and the head teacher. I think I am really lucky that I got to know them and learn from them. I don’t think I’ll ever meet teachers who are so warm and really care for the students the way they do.

When I was 9 years old, my mom started to go to work, and couldn’t drive me to my English school anymore. My parents thought that my brother and I were too young to go to English school by ourselves, and decided to move right next to the school. It’s a quite unusual thing to do. I think my parents had a strong belief in this school to help us. I was too young to think about those kinds of things.

After moving, my brother and I were alone in the house until my parents got back home. We both slept a lot, and didn’t want to study. Mom and dad weren’t there to make us go to school and study, so we often went to school late, or took a nap. After a few days doing that, we couldn’t do that anymore because every time we were late, the Wonjangnim came to our house, woke us up, and took us to school. I remember that I didn’t like that then because I didn’t want to study, but now, I really appreciate her for the affection she has shown us.

The head teacher is one of the teachers I most appreciate. I learned lots of things from him - English, of course, but also many things about life. He always cares about students. He encourages students to work harder. He helps students to believe in themselves. When students have a hard time, he’s the one who convinces them to keep trying and helps them to cheer up again. He means a lot to me. He’s the one who gave the English golden ticket to me and who made me dream about a bigger world, about becoming a better, best me. He’s not only a great teacher for me, but also, a good friend.
Institution Location
Musilro 181, Wonju, Kangwondo, South Korea.
Show more
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
30 helpful voted.
I think I am lucky to study here
1 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I’ve been studying at International English School for about 8 years, and it has really helped to improve my English speaking, listening, writing and especially the understanding of English culture.

The teachers who work here are all very nice to the students and give them lots of information which helps them. Also, the principal is very kind and friendly and really cares for us. She treats the students like her own children. She is very honest and her main interest is how much we learn. The head teacher is very concerned about us. He always mentions the words which we’re using wrong and tries to correct them.

I think I am lucky to learn English at International English School.
Institution Location
Wonju
Relationship
Student
Show more
30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
33 helpful voted.
I have never regretted going to this school
1 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I am a middle school student who has been going to International English School since I was in second grade. Since I graduated from elementary school, I have been thinking a lot about keeping going to this school, because in Korean middle school students need to study English only for the tests, but it's not real English. So, I have never regretted going to this school.

International English School is a great place to study because it's really clean and everything you need to study is there - like books, videos, and cassettes which students can use anytime they want to study themselves. Even on weekends, the teachers help students to study.

I think the greatest part of International English School is that teachers teach students sincerely. They talk to students in a friendly way, and they give advice on how to study, how to find your talent, and how to get into college etc. Especially, the Wonjangnim and the head teacher always take care of the students and the school.

When I first came to this school, I thought I didn't need English except for school tests. So it was not fun, it was stressful. But after I learned English there, I learned how English is important, so I decided to try to keep improving my English. International English School helped me in many ways and I am very grateful for it. I can confidently say that International English School is one of the best.

Institution Location
Musilro 181, Wonju, Kangwondo, 26447, South Korea
Show more
33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
37 helpful voted.
International English School: What makes me special
2 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I live in Wonju, a small city in Korea and I am a normal student who goes to Korean high school. However, as I mentioned in title, this English school makes me special and different from other students.

This school tries hard to teach English as a second language, not just a subject to study. I think that is a very important point. Since I was young, I was able to have wide experience through books, songs, recorded tapes, TV shows, movies etc... From this education, I have also learned about cultures in English speaking countries.

Everyone knows that they help us with true heart. Of course the place is nice and comfortable, and the teachers not only teach us, but they truly care about our futures. I had a lot of help from them in dreaming of becoming an architect. It is really nice to have people who worry and care about me, along with my parents and friends. Sometimes, I even feel like this school is my second home.

Institution Location
Musil-ro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, 220-040, South Korea
Relationship
student
Show more
37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
36 helpful voted.
The best one in the country
2 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I have been attending International English School for over six years, and I have always thought it was a fortunate opportunity to live in Wonju, so that I could enroll in the best English school in Korea and study with great, enthusiastic teachers who have the knowledge to teach kids from kindergarten to high school.

The school offers various classes to students in English, math, science, social studies, etc. They have additional classes for students who need to catch up in their regular classes and advanced classes for smart students with the eagerness to study more intensely.

The Wonjangnim and teachers are highly interested in each of the students. Wonderful teachers, a great curriculum including marvelous storybooks, and the excellent condition of the school such as always-clean classrooms and a library filled with great books and encyclopedias make the school the best one in the country.
Institution Location
Musil-ro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, 220-040, South Korea.
Show more
36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
36 helpful voted.
The only word that can describe this school is 'best'.
2 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I am a student who has been at this school for eight years and I still go here. This school taught me real English, not Konglish.

I live in a small country, small town, but I can boast that I learned English better than children in other bigger cities. It is due to the good teachers and the president of the school. Their involvement in my life has completely changed my life.

When I was in elementary school, I had no idea how to study. Then after I came here, I learned how to study from a great teacher who is still teaching me. He taught me the alphabet, how to count, how to read words, how to make sentences etc. When I was young, I didn't like him, but now, I like him because he is the only one who makes me study - except my family.

The Wonjangnim (who is the president of this school) is really, really kind. When the children come in, she always smiles and welcomes them first. By Confucian tradition, in Korea, usually the younger person or people greet first, but the Wonjangnim always greets them first. And when the children's parents come to pick them up after school, the Wonjangnim sends them off in the softest voice I've never heard.

I am allergic to dust, but this school is so clean that I do not get allergies when I come to study. This school has a library, listening rooms, many classrooms and thousands and thousands of videos in the watching rooms. It means this school is the perfect place to study.

I want to stay here until I go to college. The teachers, students and the president are wonderful. My memories of International English School will be precious and will be remembered forever.
Institution Location
Musilro 181, Wonju, Kangwondo, 26447, South Korea
Relationship
student
Show more
36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
38 helpful voted.
My Son Sometimes Wonders
2 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I want to explain how excellent the School is and how nice the Wonjangnim and the head theacher are. I cannot express enough how much I thank God and my friend who introduced me to this school.

I have 4 sons and they all have gone to International English School. Two of them are still studying there. I have known the school for almost 15 years. Because my home is quite far from the school, I waited for my kids at the school, while they were studying. I watched American TV shows at the video rooms I watched every episode of Little House on the Prairie and The Waltons. (They have 20 or more terabytes of TV shows, movies and documentaries). I was there at least 3 days a week, and stayed longer than 2 hours each time I went, so I know how the School treats its own pupils and co-workers, because I witnessed all of it with my own eyes.

The Wonjangnim loves the students as if they were her own children, and treats co-workers like her family. The atmosphere is warm and the teachers are gentle, kind and ready to teach the kids. I enjoyed every second I spent there.

When my youngest son started to attend the school, he cried and refused to be in the classroom so the Wonjangnim allowed me to stay with him. I was able to see how the classes were run. I was amazed by the quality of classes, since even I was able to tell that teachers were well-trained and the classes well-organized. Not even a minute was wasted. The head teacher trained them so well. It was impressive.

One day, I heard a student talking to her friend that her school’s native English teacher thought that she was from an English speaking country. She laughed because she had never been to one. Now I can believe that really happened, because my oldest son who is a junior in a US college told me that his professors never thought that he came from outside of the country since his English was excellent. They all thought that he was born and raised in the States, until he told them that he was from South Korea.

The School is so clean that you cannot even find a speck of dust. They only have 5 students a class, because if there are more, it is harder to care for each student. Other schools, to make money, have at least 12 students a class. The head teacher NEVER puts students in the wrong level to fill up classes, especially when their ability to speak English is different (While this may seem like the right thing to do, almost every other school in Korea does this).

I remember that my oldest son stopped going to the school for 2 years, because of his middle school policy. When he started to go to the school again, he was behind his peers, so the head teacher set up an extra class just for him for 18 months. He did not accept money because that is NOT what he is after. He did it because he cares.


I always tell my kids that I have a great respect for the head teacher and Wonjangnim and I admire them as human beings for their attitude and his passion towards students. I am a Sunday school teacher, but I don’t think I can love my students like he does.

Also they accepted a boy from my church to study at the school without any kind of tuition, since the boy’s family cannot afford it. I did not even ask them to do it. I just told them about him wanting to study and his family’s economic situation. After checking his English level, the head teacher organized a private lesson for the boy to catch up with his class.

My youngest son says that he sometimes wonders that “Does the school make its students excellent or is it the other way around?” because all of the higher level students at the school go to or can go to famous schools anywhere in the world and get scholarships.” Being the mother of 4 sons who have gone to this school, I firmly believe the former is right.

I feel so blessed that I was able to send my kids to this school. I hope that God blesses the head teacher and Wonjangnim with good health so they can also teach our grandkids. May the good LORD bless them for years to come!

Institution Location
Musil-ro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, 220-040, South Kore
Show more
38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
43 helpful voted.
A great opportunity
2 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I'm a student who goes to International English School. So, I know that International
English School is one of the best schools, where they teach real English. When l first came to International English School I didn't even know the alphabet. After learning English at International English School I have become good at English and not only English, I have learned English culture such as Literature, Movies, TV shows etc...

Wonju, where I live, is a small town and I'm really glad that there is a school like International English School where there are great teachers with passion. The Wonjangnim who always cares about you. And one thing different from other schools is International English School is very clean. Even the bathrooms are cleaner than my house (I'm not even joking). The teaching system is also fascinating. The head teacher made the teaching system himself to teach students more efficiently. I have learned so many things from the International English School apart from English also Math, Science, Social Studies etc...

International English School leads the students from the ABCs to SAT. Learning In International English School has been one of the best opportunities of my life and if get married and have children of my own in the future, I will be sure to send my children to International English School to learn English because International English School is the best school I have experienced.
Institution Location
Musilro 181, Wonju, Kangwondo, 26447, South Korea
Show more
43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
44 helpful voted.
This school changed my life.
2 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
International English School isn't just a school to me. I have never lived outside of Wonju, so I learned all my English at International English School. Before I went there, I couldn't even write the alphabet, but because the teachers taught me English with passion, now I speak English naturally.

My goal is to be a biologist. The teachers help to motivate me, and also help me to find my talents. They don't just teach me, they give me advice that really helps me to establish my goals. After deciding what I should do in my life, I got all A's in Middle school, including English. So I'm applying to Science High School, and I feel like I'm getting closer to my goals.

When you're studying science, you can learn much more in America than in Korea. I thought a regular Korean student like me could never get into an American university. But the teachers told me how can I get scholarships and get into an American school, so I'm aiming for American universities, just like other International English school students who have gone to top American schools, and I'm planning to study at International English School till I go to a collage.

This school changed my life, and I will never forget their effort and passion even when I become an adult.
Institution Location
Musilro 181, Wonju, Kangwondo, 26447, South Korea
Relationship
student
Show more
44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
44 helpful voted.
My Golden Ticket for a Great Future
2 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I have been going to International English School for the past 5 years now, and I can't describe the experiences I have had in one word.Before I went to this school, my life with English wasn't easy.I remember back in those days, I could't even pronounce the word oven, but as soon as I came to this school and started studying with the teachers, my English got better and better every day.The head teacher and the wonjangnim are so passionate and always care about the students.The students from our school not only learn English, but math, science and more importantly, English expressions and references as you would expect to learn at American schools. Throughout the years,students from International English School have gotten scholarships from many great Universities in the US. This seemed impossible for a student like me in Korea, but seeing the students do it before me has given me the courage to do it too. If i had to pick the best school of my life, then International English School would be the one for sure.
Institution Location
Musilro 181, Wonju, Kangwondo, 26447, South Korea
Show more
44 of 45 people found the following review helpful

Adding Your institution is Easy as 1-2-3

Simply add your institution, the form only takes a few minutes.

Register yourself on the website confirm that you are a human. Wait for confirmation via email.

Once you login to the website you can then review your chosen institution.

Recently Added

New Gen Edu Initiative (NGE) is a recruiter located in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. Address: One Lake Plaza Office no.
Kidz International Pre-School (KIPS) is a private school located in Al Gharrafah, Qatar. Address: Building 72, corner Nasser Street 827,...
Brighton College Dubai is an international school located in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. Address: Al Barsha 2 South, Dubai, United...
The Asian International School is an international school located in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. Address: 177 Bis 2 Cao...
Dehong Xi’an International Chinese School ( Dehong Education) is a private school located in Xi’an, China. Address: Qu Jiang New...
The English School is a private school located in Salmiya, Kuwait. Address: Mousaed Al-Azmi Street, Block 12, Salmiya, Kuwait. Website: The...
Wellington College International Bangkok (WCIB) is an international school located in Bangkok, Thailand. Address: 18 Krungthep Kreetha Road, Saphan Sung...

Connect With Us Today

We believe it’s important to stay closely connected with the great individuals and organizations in the ESL/EFL industry, and what better way than through social media? We’re constantly posting updates online and participating in the buzz.

Please consider connecting with us on the following social media websites to stay up-to-date and connected!

 

Select a Country

Have you added your Institution!

Add your institution for review!

Thank for using ESLwatch, just one more thing before you go. Have you added your institution for review?

Does not matter if it is a school, college, university, recruiter, company, individual or online website that you have had dealings with in the past or present. The review form only takes a few minutes and you do not have to review the institution yourself.

 

Add Your Institution for Review

x