Asian School Reviews

Search ESLwatch

Log in Register

Log in

Your trust is our top priority, institutes are not allowed to alter or remove their reviews.

Institute reviews can be submitted anonymously by employees, students, parents or even if you have had an interview. Read employee reviews and ratings on ESLwatch to decide if an institute is right for you.

 

"Lead by example and inspire with your review"

Did you know that 9/10 people will search for reviews in their own research, but will not take five minutes to help others by reviewing their own institute.

Korea, South in Asia (school): International English School - International School - South KoreaInternational English School is an international school located in Wonju, South Korea.

 

Address: Musil-ro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, 220-040, South Korea.

Website: International English School

 

 

 

 

Pin It
4.7/5 from 26 ratings.
  • Experience
  • Professionalism
  • Work location
  • Living situation
  • Pay & benefits
  • Support & facilities
  • Health & safety
Summary rating
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
11 helpful voted.
WARNING WARNING WARNING
3 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
What claims to be the best English school in S.K. (serious) is actually far from that. While money seems to be the main motive here, this school has sent a number of students to American Universities, which is pretty much the only positive aspect of this institution.

Expect to be micromanaged and belittled while working here. Occasionally yelled at in front of students and other teachers for not putting pens away the right side up or touching playing cards wrong.

Looks like there is one real review here by a teacher and the rest by students; likely they were coerced into writing these reviews as this school is ran by fear of the head American teacher. I'm sure most potential teachers doing research will easily see past this facade and get the real gist of this place . Stay far away from this hagwon, It has dime a dozen benefits with severe cons (namely the head American teacher).

The pros
Cool teachers
Cool apartment
Free lunches
The cons
Being yelled at
Being belittled
Being micromanaged
The head teacher (he does the hiring)
Mass delusion
Advice to Management
Beyond help
Institution Location
Mushilro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, South Korea
Show more
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
21 helpful voted.
The School that makes my life abundant.
3 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I’ve been at this school as a student for about nine years now. I can remember my attitude on my first day of school. I really didn’t want to study. But as the time went by, I started to enjoy studying English here. I think the main reason for this change is this school’s environment. International English School provided me the feeling of studying abroad. I was hearing English everywhere. In school, I could listen to tapes recorded by the teachers at the school. They have a library of books for outside reading and books on tape. They also have lots of movies and TV shows for students. In addition, we study math, science and social studies in English. By learning these subjects in English, I have been able to scrutinize more books, journals and so on.

On holidays, such as Valentine’s Day, Halloween and Christmas, we always have a little cultural experience. In class, we read a book titled “Arthur’s Halloween.” In the book there was candy corn, which is hard to get in Korea, so I was unaware of it. But during class, the Wonjangnim brought us some candy corn so we could try it. It was so sweet. To be honest, it was too sweet. There are so many stories to tell and fun times to remember.

The school is filled with such good memories and love and I think it is the best place to learn English with good friends and teachers.

Now I’m studying at Seoul National University, and as I major in art, I go to museums and galleries a lot. After I study the exhibition in a museum or a gallery, I always buy a book which is usually a catalogue of the exhibition or reviews and journals on the artist. There is always English, and sometimes I find some mistranslation between the English and the Korean. When I read the text in English, it is rather a different context. The context of the world is different around the world and being bilingual gives me greater insight.


I’m still studying at International English School and I feel that by learning a language in a natural way I can have a more abundant life.
The pros
Good facility and vast resources for students
Institution Location
Wonju, Korea
Relationship
I'm a student of international english school!
Show more
21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
29 helpful voted.
My Golden Ticket
3 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I went to this academy since I was in third grade. As I grew older and realized the necessity for learning English, I was grateful for learning English at this academy. Wonjangnim always takes care of the students, and the head teacher helps us use perfect English.
Because of their passion and effort, now I am very good at English than when I first came to this academy - When I first came to this academy, I didn't now what does 'wrist' mean, but now I can communicate in English and also come to think of going to a foreign university.
I appreciate them so much and I have no doubt that English I learned in this academy would be my golden ticket.
Institution Location
Musil-ro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, 220-040, South Korea
Show more
29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
65 helpful voted.
More Than Just a School for Me
6 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I first went to this school in 2007, when I was 6 years old. More than 10 years have passed since then. That little 6-year-old kid has become a high school student now and is still going to this school. I want to write something since I’m a pupil of International English School, who has spent more than half of my life with this school.

I have lots of things to say about this school and I first want to talk about the teachers. I actually appreciate them, especially the Wonjangnim and the head teacher. I think I am really lucky that I got to know them and learn from them. I don’t think I’ll ever meet teachers who are so warm and really care for the students the way they do.

When I was 9 years old, my mom started to go to work, and couldn’t drive me to my English school anymore. My parents thought that my brother and I were too young to go to English school by ourselves, and decided to move right next to the school. It’s a quite unusual thing to do. I think my parents had a strong belief in this school to help us. I was too young to think about those kinds of things.

After moving, my brother and I were alone in the house until my parents got back home. We both slept a lot, and didn’t want to study. Mom and dad weren’t there to make us go to school and study, so we often went to school late, or took a nap. After a few days doing that, we couldn’t do that anymore because every time we were late, the Wonjangnim came to our house, woke us up, and took us to school. I remember that I didn’t like that then because I didn’t want to study, but now, I really appreciate her for the affection she has shown us.

The head teacher is one of the teachers I most appreciate. I learned lots of things from him - English, of course, but also many things about life. He always cares about students. He encourages students to work harder. He helps students to believe in themselves. When students have a hard time, he’s the one who convinces them to keep trying and helps them to cheer up again. He means a lot to me. He’s the one who gave the English golden ticket to me and who made me dream about a bigger world, about becoming a better, best me. He’s not only a great teacher for me, but also, a good friend.
Institution Location
Musilro 181, Wonju, Kangwondo, South Korea.
Show more
65 of 70 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
75 helpful voted.
I think I am lucky to study here
6 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I’ve been studying at International English School for about 8 years, and it has really helped to improve my English speaking, listening, writing and especially the understanding of English culture.

The teachers who work here are all very nice to the students and give them lots of information which helps them. Also, the principal is very kind and friendly and really cares for us. She treats the students like her own children. She is very honest and her main interest is how much we learn. The head teacher is very concerned about us. He always mentions the words which we’re using wrong and tries to correct them.

I think I am lucky to learn English at International English School.
Institution Location
Wonju
Relationship
Student
Show more
75 of 80 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
76 helpful voted.
I have never regretted going to this school
7 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I am a middle school student who has been going to International English School since I was in second grade. Since I graduated from elementary school, I have been thinking a lot about keeping going to this school, because in Korean middle school students need to study English only for the tests, but it's not real English. So, I have never regretted going to this school.

International English School is a great place to study because it's really clean and everything you need to study is there - like books, videos, and cassettes which students can use anytime they want to study themselves. Even on weekends, the teachers help students to study.

I think the greatest part of International English School is that teachers teach students sincerely. They talk to students in a friendly way, and they give advice on how to study, how to find your talent, and how to get into college etc. Especially, the Wonjangnim and the head teacher always take care of the students and the school.

When I first came to this school, I thought I didn't need English except for school tests. So it was not fun, it was stressful. But after I learned English there, I learned how English is important, so I decided to try to keep improving my English. International English School helped me in many ways and I am very grateful for it. I can confidently say that International English School is one of the best.

Institution Location
Musilro 181, Wonju, Kangwondo, 26447, South Korea
Show more
76 of 80 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
77 helpful voted.
International English School: What makes me special
7 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I live in Wonju, a small city in Korea and I am a normal student who goes to Korean high school. However, as I mentioned in title, this English school makes me special and different from other students.

This school tries hard to teach English as a second language, not just a subject to study. I think that is a very important point. Since I was young, I was able to have wide experience through books, songs, recorded tapes, TV shows, movies etc... From this education, I have also learned about cultures in English speaking countries.

Everyone knows that they help us with true heart. Of course the place is nice and comfortable, and the teachers not only teach us, but they truly care about our futures. I had a lot of help from them in dreaming of becoming an architect. It is really nice to have people who worry and care about me, along with my parents and friends. Sometimes, I even feel like this school is my second home.

Institution Location
Musil-ro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, 220-040, South Korea
Relationship
student
Show more
77 of 82 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
76 helpful voted.
The best one in the country
7 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I have been attending International English School for over six years, and I have always thought it was a fortunate opportunity to live in Wonju, so that I could enroll in the best English school in Korea and study with great, enthusiastic teachers who have the knowledge to teach kids from kindergarten to high school.

The school offers various classes to students in English, math, science, social studies, etc. They have additional classes for students who need to catch up in their regular classes and advanced classes for smart students with the eagerness to study more intensely.

The Wonjangnim and teachers are highly interested in each of the students. Wonderful teachers, a great curriculum including marvelous storybooks, and the excellent condition of the school such as always-clean classrooms and a library filled with great books and encyclopedias make the school the best one in the country.
Institution Location
Musil-ro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, 220-040, South Korea.
Show more
76 of 81 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
76 helpful voted.
The only word that can describe this school is 'best'.
7 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I am a student who has been at this school for eight years and I still go here. This school taught me real English, not Konglish.

I live in a small country, small town, but I can boast that I learned English better than children in other bigger cities. It is due to the good teachers and the president of the school. Their involvement in my life has completely changed my life.

When I was in elementary school, I had no idea how to study. Then after I came here, I learned how to study from a great teacher who is still teaching me. He taught me the alphabet, how to count, how to read words, how to make sentences etc. When I was young, I didn't like him, but now, I like him because he is the only one who makes me study - except my family.

The Wonjangnim (who is the president of this school) is really, really kind. When the children come in, she always smiles and welcomes them first. By Confucian tradition, in Korea, usually the younger person or people greet first, but the Wonjangnim always greets them first. And when the children's parents come to pick them up after school, the Wonjangnim sends them off in the softest voice I've never heard.

I am allergic to dust, but this school is so clean that I do not get allergies when I come to study. This school has a library, listening rooms, many classrooms and thousands and thousands of videos in the watching rooms. It means this school is the perfect place to study.

I want to stay here until I go to college. The teachers, students and the president are wonderful. My memories of International English School will be precious and will be remembered forever.
Institution Location
Musilro 181, Wonju, Kangwondo, 26447, South Korea
Relationship
student
Show more
76 of 82 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating(s).
79 helpful voted.
My Son Sometimes Wonders
7 months ago.
Experience
Professionalism
Work location
Living situation
Pay & benefits
Support & facilities
Health & safety
Institute Review
I want to explain how excellent the School is and how nice the Wonjangnim and the head theacher are. I cannot express enough how much I thank God and my friend who introduced me to this school.

I have 4 sons and they all have gone to International English School. Two of them are still studying there. I have known the school for almost 15 years. Because my home is quite far from the school, I waited for my kids at the school, while they were studying. I watched American TV shows at the video rooms I watched every episode of Little House on the Prairie and The Waltons. (They have 20 or more terabytes of TV shows, movies and documentaries). I was there at least 3 days a week, and stayed longer than 2 hours each time I went, so I know how the School treats its own pupils and co-workers, because I witnessed all of it with my own eyes.

The Wonjangnim loves the students as if they were her own children, and treats co-workers like her family. The atmosphere is warm and the teachers are gentle, kind and ready to teach the kids. I enjoyed every second I spent there.

When my youngest son started to attend the school, he cried and refused to be in the classroom so the Wonjangnim allowed me to stay with him. I was able to see how the classes were run. I was amazed by the quality of classes, since even I was able to tell that teachers were well-trained and the classes well-organized. Not even a minute was wasted. The head teacher trained them so well. It was impressive.

One day, I heard a student talking to her friend that her school’s native English teacher thought that she was from an English speaking country. She laughed because she had never been to one. Now I can believe that really happened, because my oldest son who is a junior in a US college told me that his professors never thought that he came from outside of the country since his English was excellent. They all thought that he was born and raised in the States, until he told them that he was from South Korea.

The School is so clean that you cannot even find a speck of dust. They only have 5 students a class, because if there are more, it is harder to care for each student. Other schools, to make money, have at least 12 students a class. The head teacher NEVER puts students in the wrong level to fill up classes, especially when their ability to speak English is different (While this may seem like the right thing to do, almost every other school in Korea does this).

I remember that my oldest son stopped going to the school for 2 years, because of his middle school policy. When he started to go to the school again, he was behind his peers, so the head teacher set up an extra class just for him for 18 months. He did not accept money because that is NOT what he is after. He did it because he cares.


I always tell my kids that I have a great respect for the head teacher and Wonjangnim and I admire them as human beings for their attitude and his passion towards students. I am a Sunday school teacher, but I don’t think I can love my students like he does.

Also they accepted a boy from my church to study at the school without any kind of tuition, since the boy’s family cannot afford it. I did not even ask them to do it. I just told them about him wanting to study and his family’s economic situation. After checking his English level, the head teacher organized a private lesson for the boy to catch up with his class.

My youngest son says that he sometimes wonders that “Does the school make its students excellent or is it the other way around?” because all of the higher level students at the school go to or can go to famous schools anywhere in the world and get scholarships.” Being the mother of 4 sons who have gone to this school, I firmly believe the former is right.

I feel so blessed that I was able to send my kids to this school. I hope that God blesses the head teacher and Wonjangnim with good health so they can also teach our grandkids. May the good LORD bless them for years to come!

Institution Location
Musil-ro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, 220-040, South Kore
Show more
79 of 84 people found the following review helpful

Adding Your institution is Easy as 1-2-3

Simply add your institution, the form only takes a few minutes.

Register yourself on the website confirm that you are a human. Wait for confirmation via email.

Once you login to the website you can then review your chosen institution.

Recently Added

Kaihua Qinyang Zhongxin Kindergarten is a private school located in Zhongxin, China. Address: 38 Qinnan Road, Kaihua, Zhejiang Province, China. Website:...
Premier English is a company locayed in Qingdao, China. Address: 433 Xingyang Road, Chengyang, Qingdao, China. Website: Premier English...
Shenzhen SIE Education is a company located in Shenzhen, China. Address: 15th Floor, Middle Building, Fujing Mansion Fuzhong Road, Futian...
CAE Oxford Aviation Academy (OxfordSaudia) is a private school located in Dammam, Saudi Arabia. Address: King Fahad International Airport Passengers...
Fuyang Normal University (FYNU) is an university located in Fuyang, China. Address: 714 Qinghe Lu, Yingzhou District, Fuyang, Anhui, 236001,...
Door Service English is a private school located in Antioquia, Colombia. Address: Cra 27 # 35sur – 162 Oficina 341,...
Singapore International School Gwangju Learning Center (SISGLC) is an international school located in Gwangju, South Korea. Address: O Bang Ro...

Connect With Us Today

We believe it’s important to stay closely connected with the great individuals and organizations in the ESL/EFL industry, and what better way than through social media? We’re constantly posting updates online and participating in the buzz.

Please consider connecting with us on the following social media websites to stay up-to-date and connected!

 

Select a Country

Have you added your Institution!

Add your institution for review!

Thank for using ESLwatch, just one more thing before you go. Have you added your institution for review?

Does not matter if it is a school, college, university, recruiter, company, individual or online website that you have had dealings with in the past or present. The review form only takes a few minutes and you do not have to review the institution yourself.

 

Add Your Institution for Review

x